PDA

View Full Version : spell components and card discard rules



Jin_Xu
02-17-2012, 10:19 AM
Hi there. Just picked up the game. It looks like a lot of fun. A question though.

in the event of great misfortune and you end up with 8 of the same type of component in your hand, is there a way to discard some before your next round? Or is the only way to remove cards from your hand through spell creation?

if the latter is the case, is it allowed to declare the 1 component you have 8 of then play all 8 cards. In doing so, you can then remove the cards from the spell until it is legal and the remaining go to the discard pile thereby allowing you to reset your hand in game.

or is it, if you have all of the same component, you're pretty much hooped until the start of the next game?

thanks

Skinner
02-17-2012, 11:36 AM
is it allowed to ... play all 8 cards. In doing so, you can then remove the cards from the spell until it is legal and the remaining go to the discard pile thereby allowing you to reset your hand in game.

This is the way I understand it, as I don't see anything in the rulebook that says you can only play 1, 2, or 3 cards on your turn.

If a max of 3 was intended, you could still do the same thing though, playing 3 cards of the same component, then discarding two of them to make your spell legal to help filter through your hand quicker (just not as quick as doing all 8 at once).

Matt_Hyra
02-17-2012, 01:05 PM
Hi there. Just picked up the game. It looks like a lot of fun. A question though.

in the event of great misfortune and you end up with 8 of the same type of component in your hand, is there a way to discard some before your next round? Or is the only way to remove cards from your hand through spell creation?

if the latter is the case, is it allowed to declare the 1 component you have 8 of then play all 8 cards. In doing so, you can then remove the cards from the spell until it is legal and the remaining go to the discard pile thereby allowing you to reset your hand in game.

or is it, if you have all of the same component, you're pretty much hooped until the start of the next game?

thanks

If you look at the rules for illegal spells, you will notice that the "punishment" is that you have to discard the "illegal" cards. So if you are dealt all Sources (unlikely), feel free to play 3 of them. Only one will resolve, and you can discard the rest. This results in playing a very slow 1-component spell, because you have to announce the spell as a 3-component spell. You choose which one of the 3 Sources (in this example) will resolve when you reveal the spell.

Skinner
02-17-2012, 01:41 PM
So is it correct to infer from your post that you are in fact limited to playing a maximum of 3 cards per turn? Or in other words, you cannot put your entire 8 card hand down in front of you to discard the whole thing (given the exampel above)?

Matt_Hyra
02-17-2012, 02:21 PM
So is it correct to infer from your post that you are in fact limited to playing a maximum of 3 cards per turn? Or in other words, you cannot put your entire 8 card hand down in front of you to discard the whole thing (given the exampel above)?

Yes, the limit is 3 components per spell. We showed a 4-component spell in the rulebook as an example of an "illegal play," but that should have been further clarified as an impossible play.

FYI: When you resolve a spell with more than 1 Delivery, you must resolve the spell that you used as your Initiative that round.

Jin_Xu
02-17-2012, 04:21 PM
Thanks for such a prompt response and clarification.