View Full Version : The Balrog

04-24-2013, 11:31 AM
My game group was divided on the interpretation of the Balrog (normal not nightmare version). Do the players who discarded the highest cost cards discard a number of cards from their hand equal to the cards' cost? Or do they discard cards of equal cost?

04-24-2013, 11:41 AM
...discard X cards, where X is the cost of the discarded card.
We didn't write that way, as algebra scares the kids.

If we wanted it the other way, we would have written it: ...reveal your hand and discard each card that shares a cost with that card.

05-07-2013, 12:28 PM
I have another Balrog question (impossible mode).

Say you are playing Frodo so you have "The One Ring" card which cannot be destroyed. For the group ambush say you destroy the top card of your deck and it has cost 1, so you have to destroy an additional card from the top of your deck. What if that second card is "The One Ring" which cannot be destroyed? Do you not have to destroy a second card? Or do you have to destroy the next card that is below "The One Ring"? If so, what do you do with "The One Ring" card? Leave on top of your deck? discard it?

05-07-2013, 01:47 PM
Thank you for the clarification!

05-07-2013, 01:54 PM
You leave The One Ring on top. It is not destroyed and you don't have to dig down beneath it to find another card. So you don't have to destroy a second card.

10-17-2013, 01:16 PM
Further question that came up today, and we're split on interpretation. If a player defends the Impossible Balrog attack with a defense card which forces a card draw, does the defense card's draw happen before or after the Balrog rips the top card of the deck? Does the group ambush pause while the defense makes the player draw a card, or is the Balrog group ambush something that triggers as soon as the player announces his defense action?

10-17-2013, 01:43 PM
When you play the Defense, you must fully resolve every part of it before proceeding to any outside effects. So you draw first.

Page 5 of the rulebook mentions this stuff under "Order of Playing Your Cards." While it doesn't mention Defense cards there, the same rule applies.