PDA

View Full Version : Any tips for TCG beginners?

scyphrre
05-31-2013, 01:58 PM
For starters, I found this glossary at http://mtg.wikia.com/wiki/Slang which has helped me greatly in making sense of things when I hear people talk about the game. For example the terms "mill", "chump", "curve" were all foreign to me until I read that glossary.

I'm fairly new to the TCG genre, but not to strategy games in general, hence my attraction to Hex. I'd like to get some tips from all you veterans out there about anything you think would be useful for a beginner TCG player. There are a lot "beginners guides" out there, but they all seem to be focused on a specific game. I'm sure each has it's quirks, but I'm more interested in learning about what makes the foundation of a good TCG player, the things that are applicable to any TCG.

For instance:

What are some common pitfalls beginners make? Not enough/too many resources is the one I hear about the most, but what else?
What are the skills I would need to get good at to be a good player?
Do people normally focus on a specific deck style or many different types of decks?
I assume people test out strategies by playing against friends with different decks - is there any consensus to how many games it takes to conclude if a certain deck is viable or not?

Stuff like that ;) ... drop da knowledge!

Lazybum
05-31-2013, 02:00 PM
really people can tell you what to do and what not to do and in the end it may not help, most of us who have been playing tcgs for years and years all sucked in the begining and just takes some time to see what you are doing wrong

would suggest sticking to one color when you first start and then branching to multi colored decks

scyphrre
05-31-2013, 02:08 PM
would suggest sticking to one color when you first start and then branching to multi colored decks

Thanks, that helps.

wallofomens
05-31-2013, 02:09 PM
youtube.com/redichaos (https://www.youtube.com/user/redichaos)!