PDA

View Full Version : PvP decks.

Grim
06-01-2013, 09:57 AM
Hey guys,

I've got a couple of questions on issues that have been bugging me despite the fact that I am immensely excited about this game. As a disclaimer, I am a Game Designer by profession but have very little experience with TCG's compared to most of you.

To be honest I was never a huge fan of Magic, which, to some of you, may seem like sacrilege. I really enjoyed the WOW TCG when it first came out, primarily because it follows standard Blizzard design philosophy - "Easy to learn and difficult to master". My problem with TCG's has always been balance. I like figuring out how to build an awesome deck or just try out combinations and see how they stack up against your typical power deck that everyone knows to work well.

In WOW TCG tournaments I quickly noticed trends that were developed every time a new "block of cards" hit the shelves. Players quickly figured out optimal builds and these decks dominated the tournaments. This seems like poor card/game design to me rather than the case of players being ingenious and figuring out how to build the perfect deck. If 90% of tournament winners are all rolling a Druid healing deck it's safe to assume that there is a very good reason for it; especially if the same guys were all playing the Warrior deck during the previous tournaments.

On the other hand, I've played the Game of Thrones LCG and it is one of my all time favorite card games of all time. It is a very deep game that is balanced perfectly for 1 v 1 (joust) as well as 4 player or 5 player games. I strongly suggest you check it out if you love card games.

So here are my questions. I know that we aren't able to use our crazy PvE decks in PvP. This makes perfect sense and makes balancing much easier. I love raiding in MMO's, figuring out how to defeat a new boss, waiting for that epic loot to drop, mastering the encounters on Heroic difficulty (in case of WoW), etc.