PDA

View Full Version : Draft Punk

tgm0112
06-02-2013, 05:08 AM
I'm a relative novice to the TCG scene and only ever drafted with the same group of friends. With all this talk of Swiss and 8-4's, I'm starting to realize that we may have been doing things our own way. I tried to look things up online, but a lot of pages come with graphs of payout expectations and other stats. While enlightening, things could stand to be spelled out more.

Here's what we would do. As far as I can tell, the deck-making was standard. (Three packs, open one at a time, grab a card, pass to adjacent player, rinse and repeat.) However, we would play best of three elimination to determine victors (placement determined by drawing mana cards) and tie breakers outside of the brackets whenever necessary (you played among others knocked out at your tier to determine rank). When all was said and done, there was an unambiguous hierarchy and we laid out all the rare+ cards on a table. First place got first pick and so on, leaving everyone with the same amount of cards (usually), but undeniably rewarding the victors.

Is what we did just a case of esoteric house rules? What is the standard method of reward and elimination?

EDIT: While I've come to understand there's not really a "standard" method for drafting, a breakdown of the most common ones would be appreciated, either here or with a link provided.

Lochar
06-02-2013, 05:12 AM
Very wierd house rules, yes. Normally you keep the cards you drafted and then the top X players (depending on game type) got additional boosters.

Your way works reasonably well when there's no additional boosters for draft winners.

nicosharp
06-02-2013, 05:15 AM
That is not standard.
When you draft, at least on MTG:O - which this game seems to be modelling a lot of its PVP around - Players keep all the cards they pick.
The prizes are typically only additional packs, and a token or point for entry into monthly/quarterly/annual tournaments if you win.

Indormi