PDA

View Full Version : New to TCG's, wanting to learn before HEX releases

Swaytje
06-12-2013, 03:13 AM
Heya,

I'm completely new to TCG's, well not a 100% i guess, i have played some magic the gathering: duels of the planeswalker.. though only a tiny bit, and that's hardly a full version TCG I think.
Now I wanna get pretty serious and play competitively in HEX. Obviously I'd be pretty bad at it if I'd start playing like this, and thus I want to learn, I wanna get better.

What do you guys advice me to do, what do you advice me to study? Is there a way for me to get better in the coming months before HEX releases without actually playing anything, just studying video's/guides/articles? And if so, what video's/guides/articles do you recommend?

Cheers,
Swaytje

Random360
06-12-2013, 03:24 AM
I'd say your best bet is to read articles about deck building in magic, the two games will be similar enough in that regard.

Verdant
06-12-2013, 03:27 AM
Aside from videos and guides you can try to theorycraft some decks and publish them here for discussion. There are already quite a few people who are willing to help a fellow HEXians polish their ideas. At the moment it's not that ideal as we haven't seen majority of the cards, but... well... practice makes perfect.

Links for card databases are in one of the sticky threads.

noisexkillua
06-12-2013, 03:37 AM
Try some deck building (http://hex.potion-of-wit.com/) and watching developers demo on game plays. (http://forums.cryptozoic.com/showthread.php?t=24061) Good luck :)

Justinkp
06-12-2013, 03:46 AM
I'm in pretty much the same situation, I played Magic a little bit in '95, '96 (BTW are the cards from back then worth anything? The dark, Ice Age, bought a couple boosters of Arabian nights) but despite buying a fair number of cards and enjoying it gave it up as none of my friends played.