PDA

View Full Version : Card combo question

Alive
08-15-2013, 11:35 AM
I'm new to TCG's

Do we know yet what would happen in the following scenario..

I got a Vampire King and the enemy has 2 troops.
I play extinction (destroy all creatures)
Would all creatures die and then I would get 2 vampires??

Maphalux
08-15-2013, 11:47 AM
No. The reason that would not work is because the Vamp King dies too and his ability will only proc if he is still in play.

Alive
08-15-2013, 11:50 AM
Oh ok :'(

Chiany
08-15-2013, 11:51 AM
No. The reason that would not work is because the Vamp King dies too and his ability will only proc if he is still in play.

Not so fast there.
it really depends on the rules, which we don't know yet.

Maphalux
08-15-2013, 11:55 AM
Well, I'll give you that there might be some wonky rule for how things go on the chain, but it says right on the vampire card "When an opposing troop dies, if this troop is in play, transform that troop into a Vampire and put it into play under your control." With Extinction everything dies at the same time, including the King, so I can't see how his ability would be able to proc in this scenario.

ossuary
08-15-2013, 01:01 PM
We know from the Q&A with Ben Stoll that creatures who die don't "proc" their ability and instead "fizzle." So the Vampire King definitely would NOT leave 2 vampires in play. If an effect goes on the stack, but the target isn't there when the stack resolves (or in this case, the King is no longer in play himself), the effect fails - the same as in Magic.

nekoangel
08-15-2013, 01:17 PM
in wowtcg when things die simultaneously powers normally trigger upon destruction now we know nothing on these rules as has been said but it wouldn't be all that strange for it to work this way as well.

the above wording very rough though so please remember that. please dont take this as the answer either, just advice based on a situation ive seen.