PDA

View Full Version : Cerebral Fulmination and card draw question/rule



Norious
09-07-2013, 05:37 AM
Just saw the new cards revealed - woot!

Question for veterans - does a card like Cerebral Fulmination mean players have to draw an extra card or is it optional. I know 99% you would want that extra draw, but what if you are down to your last card and then it is your turn. What if you have only one card in your library, would this card make you lose if you had to draw an additional one?

lite
09-07-2013, 05:50 AM
in this case you must draw the Cards...
only if it says: "you may draw" its optional

lite

AbandonAllHope
09-07-2013, 08:06 AM
You only lose by drawing a card at the start of your turn during your draw step when you are unable to draw a card. This was the case with Mtg, not sure how CZE will rule this.

Delryn
09-07-2013, 09:03 AM
You only lose by drawing a card at the start of your turn during your draw step when you are unable to draw a card. This was the case with Mtg, not sure how CZE will rule this.

Actually that's not accurate. In magic if you have to draw a card for any reason and have none left in your library, you lose the game (barring some crazy rule breaking card such as laboratory maniac).


104.3c If a player is required to draw more cards than are left in his or her library, he or she draws
the remaining cards, and then loses the game the next time a player would receive priority.

So to answer the OP, if this is using magic's rules, the draw is mandatory and you would lose the game if you only had 1 card left in your library at the start of your turn. We'll see how what CZE rules say, but I would expect it to be the same here.

Aradon
09-07-2013, 09:17 AM
AbandonAllHope, you may be getting it confused with "You don't lose for having 0 cards left in your deck. Only when you have to draw a card from an empty deck do lo you lose."

I can confirm that Delryn's correct, if you would draw from an empty library for any reason at any time, you lose the game.
And as with all instructions, if a card tells you to do something, you have to do it, unless it says "You may."

AbandonAllHope
09-07-2013, 01:04 PM
Ah sorry, my apologies. It's been a long time since I actually played with magic decks where I had to worry about my deck being destroyed and losing the game based on lack of card draws. I don't enjoy playing against those decks, hence it having been a while since such a ruling took place :P

Good thing there are people there to correct me ^^

Aradon
09-07-2013, 07:31 PM
There's an unhealthy love of those effects at my store, in my opinion. The annoying part is that it's a bad strategy in general, but in our multiplayer games, it's not uncommon for two people to be playing similar decks, in which case they work twice as effectively. Those games end in grizzly messes :\

vickrpg
09-10-2013, 08:21 AM
As a side note, I was playing a casual magic game against a friend and I was playing my favourite mill deck.
(Drowner of Secrets, (http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?multiverseid=145979) Stonybrook Schoolmaster (http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?multiverseid=153166) and Intruder Alarm (http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?multiverseid=45258))

I milled him to 0, where he stayed because he had a Forbidden Crypt. (http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?multiverseid=15388)

He then proceded to beat me, badly, which was impressive, because I had "infinite" creatures. since he never had to draw, all I did was give him free searching of any card in his library. He fished out Engineered plague (http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?multiverseid=13097) and my deck was useless.

If Hex rules work as much like magic as it seems, then we're in for some fun interesting matches.

AbandonAllHope
09-10-2013, 03:52 PM
I guess you already milled a lot of his cards before he dropped forbidden crypt? Because if you milled after his crypt, those would all be removed from the game instead.