PDA

View Full Version : Hex TCG Shuffle - Complete New Player's Collection/ Rusty Player's Refresh



HyenaNipples
10-11-2013, 06:40 PM
As the Alpha really starts opening up, I want to point out all the content on Hex Shuffle that new and/or rusty TCG players might find useful. Not only do I have guides at the ready for the very basics, but I have introductions to most of the more complicated aspects of TCG play and strategy. I am confident that only the most expert of TCG players won't find something of value!

Basic Guides:

The New TCG Player's Guide to Hex TCG (http://hextcgshuffle.com/2013/07/14/the-new-tcg-players-guide-to-hex-tcg/)
-Start here if you are new to TCGs altogether!
The New TCG Player's guide to Basic Deckbuilding (Dual-Color Decks) (http://hextcgshuffle.com/2013/10/15/the-new-tcg-players-guide-to-basic-deckbuilding-dual-color-decks/)
- Understand the rules and want to dive into deckbuilding? Start here!
The New TCG Player's Competitive Format Brochure (http://hextcgshuffle.com/2013/10/21/the-new-tcg-players-competitive-format-brochure/)
- Overview of Constructed and Limited, their forms and effects on the game.
The Magic: The Gathering Player's Guide to Hex TCG (http://hextcgshuffle.com/2013/10/09/the-magic-the-gathering-players-guide-to-hex-tcg/)
- Experienced in MtG? Check here for a quick guide of the major differences!
Keywords for Magic: The Gathering Players (http://hextcgshuffle.com/2013/10/08/vocab-keywords-for-magic-the-gathering-players/)
-Keyword translations.

Basic Concepts:

Basic Card Advantage (http://hextcgshuffle.com/2013/06/24/fundamentals-basic-card-advantage/)
- An essential element to basic strategy.
The Second-Main Phase (http://hextcgshuffle.com/2013/10/14/the-second-main-phase-the-one-after-combat/)
- Basic decisions on when to play your cards!
Card-Draw Probabilities (http://hextcgshuffle.com/2013/06/26/fundamentals-card-probabilities-easy-mode/)
- Plan your custom decks with mathematical precision! (Without all the math!)
Vocab: Cantrips (http://hextcgshuffle.com/2013/08/31/vocab-cantrips/)
- Cards that draw cards!
The Multi-Block (http://hextcgshuffle.com/2013/09/12/the-multi-block/)
- You know you can block with more than one troop, right?
Two Basic Bluffs (http://hextcgshuffle.com/2013/09/05/two-basic-bluffs/)
- Yes, there is bluffing in TCGs

Getting More Advanced:

Basic Sideboarding (http://hextcgshuffle.com/2013/10/01/basic-sideboarding/)
- What is a sideboard? What are some examples?
Vocab: Tempo (http://hextcgshuffle.com/2013/09/19/vocab-tempo-momentum/)
- An explanation of 'tempo'
Vocab: Metagame (http://hextcgshuffle.com/2013/09/13/vocab-metagame/)
- What does that mean anyway?
Investment (http://hextcgshuffle.com/2013/09/03/investment/)
- Just what are you getting out of your cards, anyway?
Rob Hahn's Principles of Deckbuilding (http://hextcgshuffle.com/2013/08/21/principles-of-deckbuilding/)
- A classic essay translated for the Hex TCG player!
Rob Hahn's Theory of Deckspeed (http://hextcgshuffle.com/2013/08/28/rob-hahns-theory-of-deckspeed/)
- A TCG expert reveals his philosophy of deck speed! Translated for Hex TCG Players
The Fundamental Turn (http://hextcgshuffle.com/2013/11/05/the-fundamental-turn/)
- An alternate theory of deck speed!



General Articles of Interest:
When Hex TCG Cards Go Bad (http://www.utopianchaos.com/when-hex-tcg-cards-go-bad/)
- A explanation of why TCGs need "bad" cards
Hex TCG and Your Wallet (http://www.utopianchaos.com/hex-tcg-and-your-wallet/)
-How to be competitive in PvP without busting your budget!

And of course there is plenty more to find in the various categories of the main site (http://hextcgshuffle.com/)!

HyenaNipples
10-14-2013, 09:30 AM
List updated with recent work: The Second Main Phase. (http://hextcgshuffle.com/2013/10/14/the-second-main-phase-the-one-after-combat/)

HyenaNipples
10-21-2013, 08:03 AM
List updated with New TCG Player's Guides to Basic Deckbuilding and, today, the Competitive Format Brochure (http://hextcgshuffle.com/2013/10/21/the-new-tcg-players-competitive-format-brochure/).

HyenaNipples
11-05-2013, 07:15 AM
Added The Fundamental Turn (http://hextcgshuffle.com/2013/11/05/the-fundamental-turn/) to the advanced section.