PDA

View Full Version : Question about a mechanic



aestil
10-24-2013, 09:31 AM
Good morning all.

I recently had a quick action in hand that allows me to bounce a card in play back to my opponents hand. They way I used it was I picked some units to attack, waited to see what he would block with [if anything]. Once he did select a blocker, I bounced that unit back to his hand. Combat resolved. My attacking unit which he had selected to block did not deliver damage to anything.

is this the expected resolution to this scenario, or is this a bug?

Thanks!

bwarner
10-24-2013, 09:35 AM
That is the expected outcome. Once blocking has been declared, the creature is blocked, even if an effect causes the blocker to be removed prior to the damage dealing step in combat.

aestil
10-24-2013, 09:39 AM
I'm familiar with other games which check for blockers right when damage is assigned. I should have used my quick action BEFORE my opponent declares blockers then.

Good to know.

Thank you!

Ruomlig
10-24-2013, 09:40 AM
I believe that's working as intended. That's how it works in Magic at least.