PDA

View Full Version : Total Noob builds a noob deck (Stall/Mill)

Kirian
11-11-2013, 04:50 PM
http://hex.tcgbrowser.com/#!/deck=3788

So the central conceit is: Dump Booby Traps into the opponent's deck, then mill the heck out of him (Fate Rack, Chronic Madness). Seagulls and Ancestor's Chosen for lots of blockers to stall the game as much as possible; Buccaneer, Chaos Key, and Polymorph for control.

Is it completely useless and noobish? The mana curve is way off, but the idea is to play extra cards as much as possible.

Winterfate
11-11-2013, 06:50 PM
Not even remotely noobish Kirian. ;)

Seriously, mill is turning out to be one of the stronger strategies of Alpha, at least from what I've seen in the various Hex streams I frequent. The only troop that remotely gives me pause are those Cloud Titans, but they could be useful as an alternate win condition against decks that don't have an answer for them.

Mind you, I'm a casual player of TCGs myself (and am not in the Alpha myself either), so perhaps more experienced players of TCGs can tell you if something could be swapped for something else. :)

Ritter
11-11-2013, 08:10 PM
Although I don't usually comment on suggested deck lists, I think it's important to look at them in relation to the Alpha, since that's our current baseline for testingness (a word that describes the quality at which one can practically test a deck against real opponents).

My first issue with the list is that Countermagic is not in the alpha. I think Countermagic is going to have a huge impact on the game, and they way people build decks. Right now, there is no fear of running your bomb spell into an open board, since there is no threat of having it countered in any way. You didn't say whether or not you intend for someone to try out this deck in the alpha, or if you were throwing around an idea that could be built off the current card list without regard for what is actually available in the alpha.