PDA

View Full Version : [Suggestion] Integrating a HEX client in other games

Excantius
11-30-2013, 02:11 PM
I was just looking at the latest "Wingmans Hangar" Episode of the game "Star Citizen" and I thought: "Hey... wouldn't it be cool if I was able to play HEX during my downtime in Star Citizen, e.g. when I'm hanging out in my hangar or in a space cantina or something."
And YES, it think it would be cool.

A purely digital card game should be relatively easy to integrate in other games (I think, I'm not a game developer) and it surely couldn't hurt HEX's playerbase due to the huge public interest surrounding Star Citizen.

And Star Citizen is not the only game it could be integrated in - maybe the setting of other games like "Wildstar" or whatever are more fitting for HEX. But the idea stays the same.

I don't know if you guys from Cryptozoic had this idea already, and I have also no idea if there would be legal ramifications or huge technical difficulties by trying something like this, but maybe this could broaden HEX's audience. Not that it seems necessary, but hey, the more the merrier, right?

Just something to think about. :)

PS: Really loving HEX so far. Keep up the good work.

Stok3d
11-30-2013, 02:30 PM
I just want hex pre-installed with desktop icon on every tablet sold...

Xenavire
11-30-2013, 02:34 PM
It would require a LOT of manpower. Possibly more than either company has, even with all their manpower combined. On a technical level, just getting a game of any kind to connect to two different servers with no kind of overload or dropped connection would be a mean feat - then getting the clients to run in tandem without eating all your ram would be just as impressive. And you would have to figure out a lot of client sided issues (like what happens when your mouse reaches the border of hex, do you swap over to the other game? is it a hotkey? are the hotkeys going to clash? etc etc.)