PDA

View Full Version : Issue about Lifedrain



mithosiris
04-10-2014, 08:40 AM
Hi mates! Yesterday I had a game with a friend and we just would like to know if the fact that lifedrain triggers before the damage done is working as intended. Thank you.

rjselzler
04-10-2014, 08:51 AM
Assuming MTG rules (via Lifelink (http://wiki.mtgsalvation.com/article/Lifelink)), it doesn't trigger at all; it is a replacement effect. It should happen simultaneously though. That is, you should gain life at the same time damage is dealt. So, what would appear to be lethal from an unblocked creature may not be if another creature is blocked by a lifedrain creature.

mithosiris
04-10-2014, 08:52 AM
ok thank you so much for the fast answer

LLCoolDave
04-10-2014, 09:21 AM
Assuming MTG rules (via Lifelink (http://wiki.mtgsalvation.com/article/Lifelink)), it doesn't trigger at all; it is a replacement effect. It should happen simultaneously though. That is, you should gain life at the same time damage is dealt. So, what would appear to be lethal from an unblocked creature may not be if another creature is blocked by a lifedrain creature.

Small correction, it is not a replacement effect, it's just an additional state based effect for damage dealt by sources with lifelink. This is important with regards to wither or infect, for instance.

As for Hex, I've seen no indication that this is not the way it's intended to function. It's more elegant, generally easier to grasp than a triggered effect and I feel strategically more interesting as a whole. There's a reason the MtG designers changed the way this effect works when they introduced it as a keyword ability.