PDA

View Full Version : Ranks & matchmaking

Aldri
04-25-2014, 05:01 AM
First of all, I'm a little new to the game, I played a few games in alpha (but they never ended), so I decided to wait for beta and here it is.
One thing I find missing is the auto matchmaking based on "rank" when I try to find human opponents.
The idea is based on Hearthstone: you win a game, you gain 1 rank, you loose one game and .. well you loose one rank.
From that when you click "find game", it will try to find someone with the closest rank, and you can hope that the game will be balanced.
As a newbie I find myself playing against players way more experienced with goods decks and I can't compete with my starter deck (unless I get a lot of luck).
And it would be nice to say: hey I'm rank **** I roxx ! :)
It would also be fun to try to progress and get a better rank.

Is it something that you would considerate adding to the game ?

Westane
04-25-2014, 09:01 AM
Proving Grounds is the local card shop where you can sit down and play a game against anyone, Tournaments are are for competitive play. I don't this is the kind of game that should have a ranked play button.

That said I'm all for DCI style player ratings, I just don't think they should be deterministic in matchmaking. Splitting proving grounds into non-automated Casual/Competitive rooms is one idea, but if you've never been part of the evergoing Tournament Practice vs Casual in MTGO, well... welcome to that.

TL;DR - Yes to ratings, no to MMR based matchmaking.

Turtlewing
04-25-2014, 10:43 AM
I think ratings are planned; though they're more likely to use a more proven ratting system as the issue or raking player skill in a game with random elements and not inadvertently encouraging snobbery is fairly complex (losing due to manna screw can't tank your rating to much or the best players will be tok afraid to play).

Right now, in beta where games frequently hang due to server load, turning on the ratting system is a bit premature.