PDA

View Full Version : Countdown timer in draft

Osthall
05-08-2014, 01:50 PM
I've already mentioned this to HEXRex in chat, but I just auto-lost a round of draft for timing out. I'm new to drafting, and nowhere is it explained that the 30m clock has to cover all three rounds. I'm just relaying it here because this seriously needs to be explained to new drafters asap, as like me they will need to take time reading the cards. I feel like I just wasted my entry fee.

Yoss
05-08-2014, 02:47 PM
I'd support a pop-up when joining any queue that has instructions and details about the queue you're joining. The pop-up would have the "click here to never see this again" option, but would be a huge help for newbies like the OP here.

Pentregarth
05-08-2014, 02:59 PM
I'd actually vote for increasing the time, maybe to 45 minutes for the entire tournament. So far I have both won and lost games due to running out of time, and in no case did any of the players idle around - 2 rounds are usually no problem, but if the match isn't decided after the second round, the third round usually only has very little time left and it basically comes down to who has more time on his clock. Rather unsatisfying, especially when you consider that a third round being played means everything is still open and the two players are evenly matched.

Yoss
05-08-2014, 03:01 PM
No, please no. Draft already takes 4 hours. No need to extend that even further. An hour is plenty for a match.

Vorpal
05-08-2014, 03:05 PM
Yeah, draft doesn't need to take longer.

Pentregarth
05-08-2014, 03:23 PM
No, please no. Draft already takes 4 hours. No need to extend that even further. An hour is plenty for a match.

I don't know, if Bo3's ending due to timeout is a thing that happens frequently - and from my impression, it is - I think more time is needed

Svenn
05-08-2014, 03:25 PM