View Full Version : Eldon imprisoned doesn't gain Cerulean Grand strategist's inspire effect

05-08-2014, 03:52 PM
Eldon Imprisoned did not gain Cerulean Grand Strategist's Inspire effect when entering play.

I appreciate that this might not even be a bug, due to terminology, but the inspire effect reads: As another troop with cost equal to or greater than this troop's cost enters play under your control, it gets permanent "Action → Exhaust target troop with Attack less than or equal to this troop's.
Eldon imprisoned's printed cost is 3, my assumption, and expected result, was that since the troop was entering the battlefield via the activated effect from Eldon's distress call, he would gain the Inspire effect.
Are troops unable to have more than one activation?

Expected: Eldon Imprisoned gains Cerulean Grand Strategist's Inspire effect
Actual: Eldon Imprisoned did not gain the Inspire effect from Cerulean Grand Strategist.

05-08-2014, 04:05 PM
You're running into the same situation as in this thread (http://forums.cryptozoic.com/showthread.php?t=35443). What's happening is a constant is transforming into a troop. This doesn't trigger Comes Into Play triggers such as Inspire, unfortunately.

05-08-2014, 04:05 PM
Eldon Imprisoned comes from transforming a constant. It does not Come Into Play, and therefore does not trigger any CIP effects.

05-08-2014, 06:53 PM
Yep, not a bug. Comes Into Play effects only trigger when a troop is actually put into play, not when something that is already in play turns into a troop.