View Full Version : Block/Crushing Blow/Countermagic/Ruby Lance Possible bug

05-13-2014, 10:24 PM
I had a 2/2 creature attacking and opponent blocked with 1/3 flier. I used Crushing Blow to which he used Countermagic. I then used my Ruby Lance having 3 ruby threshold killed his flier and then the Countermagic resolved removing the Crushing Blow. However my 2/2 creature didn't end up doing any damage.

He should have done damage correct?

05-13-2014, 10:26 PM
No, your creature was blocked. Removing the blocker does not change the "blocked" status. If you want the damage to go through, either kill the potential blocker before it blocks, or have Crush.

05-13-2014, 10:31 PM
Ok thanks then that makes sense. I'll have to remember that... So any removal after blocking is assigned doesn't negate the blocking.

05-13-2014, 11:35 PM
Yup, I learned that lesson yesterday, when someone TimeRipple'd their smallfry, after blocking my 7/7.