PDA

View Full Version : Bug or Intent? Cosmic Transmogrifier +Buccaneer/TimeRipple/Shrine



vickrpg
06-02-2014, 07:25 AM
Not sure if this is a bug or if it is working as intended, but...
Currently when cosmic transmogrifier's ability is triggered, Each target card transforms into another result card with the same BASE cost as the original target cards, ignoring all modifications to cost.
E.G.:
If you have a 2 cost troop, it will become a random 2 cost card, this is correct.
If you have a 2 cost troop that was time rippled/bucaneered to become a 3 cost, it becomes a random 2 cost card with a red 3, indicating a cost penalty. Is this correct?
If you have a 2 cost artifact that has been affected by Shrine of prosperity to become a 1 cost, it becomes a random 2 cost card, with cost reduced to 1. Is this correct?


If this is intended then the text should reflect it a little better. if it is a bug, then....


Your Display Name: Victory
Bug Description: Cosmic Transmogrifier ignoring cost changes.
Steps to Reproduce:
Play Cosmic Transmogrifier(CT),
Modify the costs of cards with other cards that permanently change costs(Time Riple, Buccaneer, Shrine of Prosperity),
Activate CT's ability,
Note the new cards casting cost.
Frequency: every time I've tested it.
Additional Information:

Xenavire
06-02-2014, 07:41 AM
From information we got during alpha, I believe this is a bug. We would need further confirmation right now, since a few cards have gone through changes since then (meaning that some were working incorrectly due to ruling issues) and this could have been one that slipped through the cracks.

So most likely, bug. Confirmation requested.

MatWith1T
06-02-2014, 08:56 AM
Eehhhh, it depends how you look at it. Consider this:

The card transforms, but it does not revert and transform, so any modifiers (including cost) carry over.

Since that +1 cost penalty has to carry over, a 2 cost card with a +1 cost penalty can only transform into another 2 cost card with a +1 cost penalty. It cannot transform into a 3 cost card with no penalty because that would require reverting the original card's penalty, which Transmogrifier does not do. It cannot transform into a 3 cost card with a +1 penalty, because that card's cost is 4, not 3.

Viewed in that manner, the card would be working as intended.

Xenavire
06-02-2014, 09:06 AM
According to Alan, all effects that use cost need to use the modified cost (assuming 0 to be the floor for negative numbers).

Which is why I am asking for confirmation, because how it works still makes sense in another way, but not the way we were told in what was admittedly a busy thread by a guy who was not actually a rules guy and who was rather busy.

Alan is awesome and all, but he could have been mistaken or distracted, or communication could have been too vague, or whatever. Things like that do happen. So according to the info we have, it is indeed a bug. But that info could be wrong somehow, or outdated.

DionyzRex
06-02-2014, 12:10 PM
Yes, this is a bug.


Transmogrifier -should- be using the modified cost and is not.

Xenavire
06-02-2014, 12:35 PM
Yes, this is a bug.


Transmogrifier -should- be using the modified cost and is not.

Woo, thanks Rex!