PDA

View Full Version : Snakes Booster Pack Challenge



Silentsnake
10-10-2014, 03:13 PM
Greetings Fellow Hexer's

My name is SilentSnake76 (AKA the Snake) and for those who don't know me, I currently play and stream the game we all love Hex. I have run various tournaments before from my stream with a variety of differently play types and difference mechanics to make things fun and enjoyable as we patiently await set 2.

The types of tournaments I have run are:
1. Sealed Champions Challenge (8 players are randomly ordered and then have to select a champion prior to entering a sealed tournament together)
2. Sealed Champions Grand Championship (I took the 8 tournament winners from the champions challenge for a final tournament)
3. Factions Challenge (8 players have to play either Ardent or Underworld and cannot play troops from the opposing Faction)
4. Super Sunday Tournament (16 players each have 2 bans (cards removed from the tournament) and 2 limits (limit of 2 cards) and compete in a double elimination tournament.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Well its time for another tournament with a twist. I have entered 4 separate drafts and recorded the 3 initial booster packs for each tournament. With those packs I have created a card pool of 180 cards. I then removed 1 Inner Conflict (since there were 5 drafted) and added in some shard fixing (3 AID, 2 SOF) to bring the card total to 184.

Here are the rules for the tournament.
1. Players must create a 60 card deck with 15 card sideboard using the following pool of cards: http://hex.tcgbrowser.com/#!/cards/collection=15545&pin=9581

2. Deck lists must be submitted to me at snaketournaments@gmail.com please include the following:
a. Champion Name
b. Deck Name (be creative)
c. Any gems you have socketed and in which card

3. Decklists must be submitted to me NLT 2 hours prior to the start of the 1st Tournament.

4. Players cannot enter back to back tournaments unless there is room. Priority goes to new players.

5. You must be in my twitch channel 1 hour prior to the tournament start time to ensure I can setup the brackets.

6. If there are more than 16 players ready to go before the first tournament I will randomly draw 16 names from my magical hat to compete in the tournament.

7. The tournament will be double elimination to ensure Kismet doesn't bit you.

8. You will be playing in the proving grounds and both players must report the match results. Also the player who lost a game will have the option to either play or draw first.

9. The bracket for each tournament will be posted in my twitch channel prior to the start of each tournament. Here is an example of the bracket: http://challonge.com/snakesboosterchallenge1

10. Be courteous and have fun! If there is a dispute on a match, both players will message me and I will make the final determination.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Now here is the timeline for each tournament with respect to time zones:

TOURNAMENT 1
San Francisco (U.S.A. - California) Saturday, 11 October 2014, 15:00:00 PDT UTC-7 hours
Denver (U.S.A. - Colorado) Saturday, 11 October 2014, 16:00:00 MDT UTC-6 hours
Topeka (U.S.A. - Kansas) Saturday, 11 October 2014, 17:00:00 CDT UTC-5 hours
New York (U.S.A. - New York) Saturday, 11 October 2014, 18:00:00 EDT UTC-4 hours
London (United Kingdom - England) Saturday, 11 October 2014, 23:00:00 BST UTC+1 hour
Berlin (Germany - Berlin) Sunday, 12 October 2014, 00:00:00 CEST UTC+2 hours
Hong Kong (Hong Kong) Sunday, 12 October 2014, 06:00:00 HKT UTC+8 hours
Seoul (South Korea) Sunday, 12 October 2014, 07:00:00 KST UTC+9 hours
Melbourne (Australia - Victoria) Sunday, 12 October 2014, 09:00:00 AEDT UTC+11 hours
Corresponding UTC (GMT) Saturday, 11 October 2014, 22:00:00

TOURNAMENT 2
San Francisco (U.S.A. - California) Saturday, 11 October 2014, 21:00:00 PDT UTC-7 hours
Denver (U.S.A. - Colorado) Saturday, 11 October 2014, 22:00:00 MDT UTC-6 hours
Topeka (U.S.A. - Kansas) Saturday, 11 October 2014, 23:00:00 CDT UTC-5 hours
New York (U.S.A. - New York) Sunday, 12 October 2014, 00:00:00 EDT UTC-4 hours
London (United Kingdom - England) Sunday, 12 October 2014, 05:00:00 BST UTC+1 hour
Berlin (Germany - Berlin) Sunday, 12 October 2014, 06:00:00 CEST UTC+2 hours
Hong Kong (Hong Kong) Sunday, 12 October 2014, 12:00:00 HKT UTC+8 hours
Seoul (South Korea) Sunday, 12 October 2014, 13:00:00 KST UTC+9 hours
Melbourne (Australia - Victoria) Sunday, 12 October 2014, 15:00:00 AEDT UTC+11 hours
Corresponding UTC (GMT) Sunday, 12 October 2014, 04:00:00

TOURNAMENT 3
San Francisco (U.S.A. - California) Sunday, 12 October 2014, 03:00:00 PDT UTC-7 hours
Denver (U.S.A. - Colorado) Sunday, 12 October 2014, 04:00:00 MDT UTC-6 hours
Topeka (U.S.A. - Kansas) Sunday, 12 October 2014, 05:00:00 CDT UTC-5 hours
New York (U.S.A. - New York) Sunday, 12 October 2014, 06:00:00 EDT UTC-4 hours
London (United Kingdom - England) Sunday, 12 October 2014, 11:00:00 BST UTC+1 hour
Berlin (Germany - Berlin) Sunday, 12 October 2014, 12:00:00 CEST UTC+2 hours
Hong Kong (Hong Kong) Sunday, 12 October 2014, 18:00:00 HKT UTC+8 hours
Seoul (South Korea) Sunday, 12 October 2014, 19:00:00 KST UTC+9 hours
Melbourne (Australia - Victoria) Sunday, 12 October 2014, 21:00:00 AEDT UTC+11 hours
Corresponding UTC (GMT) Sunday, 12 October 2014, 10:00:00

And here are the prizes for each Tournament:

1st place Hex T-shirt or 1k plat
2nd place 750 plat
3rd place 500 plat
4th place 300 plat
5-8 place 200 plat
9-16 A hug from Ehlysium http://twitch.tv/ehlysium

* Please note I have limited sizes of T-shirts so I will do my best to get you the size you want/need.
** Also the Hug from Ehlysium is conditional on location and if you don't mind water being thrown on your shirt afterwards.
*** Also if you are going to participate and are a streamer please let me know.
**** Please reply to this post if you are interested and what tournament number your interested in playing.
***** I will also be doing giveaways in my stream during each tournament!

I appreciate you all taking the time to read this "Wall O text" and I hope to see you guys in the stream!

V/r
Snake

http://www.twitch.tv/silentsnake76
https://twitter.com/Silent_Snake76

enrofenrir
10-10-2014, 04:49 PM
FIRST

im am interested in playing in tournament 1 and/or 2

Twitch Name: Bosmopar

Keep Name: Enrofenrir

funktion
10-10-2014, 06:53 PM
This looks awesome, I'd love to be able to participate in tournament #1 if possible.
Twitch = funktionfails
Keep = funktion

Loonknight
10-10-2014, 07:21 PM
I'd love to be a part of Tournament #2.

Keep = Loonknight

L1ght
10-10-2014, 08:37 PM
Wow very generous prize pool - thats $100+ worth of platnium on offer people!!

Thanks for running this - I'll try and make Tourny 1 or 3 - also great to see some good Australia / Asia times available!

havocattack
10-10-2014, 09:02 PM
I'd love to play in Tournament 3

Keep: HAVOC

Resand
10-11-2014, 01:37 AM
I'll like to join. In tournament 3.
Keepname: Silvermoor

crosswell
10-11-2014, 02:56 AM
I'll join. I am fridged. I will try to make as many tourneys as I can.

magic_gazz
10-11-2014, 04:20 AM
This is pretty awesome.

Can't guarantee I can make any time though, will see what is happening at the time and if there is space.

Good luck to everyone involved and thanks for running such great events.

magic_gazz
10-11-2014, 04:36 AM
Also you should maybe post this in General. Not everyone checks the other topics, at least not regularly.

Silentsnake
10-11-2014, 04:42 AM
I did, but they moved me here :(

lets see what the word of mouth and stream chatter brings in

Either way we will run these tournaments and have fun doing it!

Jacklau89
10-11-2014, 05:52 AM
Guess I'll join TOURNAMENT 2 and watch the 3rd one! :o

BTW the card pool is so weird to build from...mono does not work at all lol

magic_gazz
10-11-2014, 06:00 AM
Having a look at the card pool and this is pretty tough. Will be really interesting to see what people play.

Jacklau89
10-11-2014, 09:10 AM
I have to say that the duplicate login error stops me from finishing my deck :( its been hours and we still could not login the game.

rKe
10-11-2014, 12:10 PM
Id like to play in Tournament 3

IGN: rKeKoke

shiftingillusion
10-11-2014, 04:52 PM
IGN: Avenwall
Interested in Tournament 2
Twitch: shiftingillusion

Deck list being emailed :)

MarS
10-12-2014, 12:34 AM
i am in for tournament #3
keep: Mars
twitch: luckerfee

if you want i can stream via twitch

Silentsnake
10-13-2014, 03:20 AM
Fellow Hexers,

After the 17+ hours of Tournaments, here are the results for all 3 tournaments. Congratulations to all the players who won. Here are the top 4 for each Tournament:

Tournament 1
1st Place - Scarenow
2nd Place - Armiesofmordor
3rd Place - Killahlol
4th Place - Bosmopar


Tournament 2
1st Place - Havoc
2nd Place - Bosmopar
3rd Place - Mindship
4th Place - Ehlysium


Tournament 3
1st Place - Elfstone
2nd Place - Fridge
3rd Place - Timberlust
4th Place - Rke_Hex

Over the course of all 3 Tournaments the following prizes were awarded:
5 - Hex TCG T-shirts
6k Platinum
4 Steam Games
$55 worth of Amazon Gift cards.


I hope everyone had a great time and I will be working on doing more fun and exciting Tournaments for you to either participate in or watch!

Again Congratulations to everyone.

V/r
Snake