PDA

View Full Version : MacOSX testing info



DataDragon
02-05-2015, 03:03 PM
Until we can get a proper installer, here is how you can get a test client on MacOSX.


Duplicate the live Hex client and name it Hex Test
Right(or control) click the Hex Test app and Show contents
Replace the patch.ini inside with the one below.
Start the new Hex Test client and it should patch itself to the test server.



Contents of patch.ini:


base=/gf_ptr/osx
patch=/HexPatch
patchannounce=http://dl.hex.gameforge.com/PatchNotes/{0}/PatchAnnounce.txt
patchnotes=https://hextcg.com/{0}/client-patch-notes
origin=http://dl.hex.gameforge.com/
version=
md5=true
selfpatch=true
languagepair=english:en-US
languagepair=deutsch:de-DE
languagepair=français:fr-FR
languagepair=italiano:it-IT
languagepair=español:es-ES
languagepair=polskie:pl-PL
languagepair=türkçe:tr-TR
languagepair=português:pt-PT
languagepair=русский:ru-RU


Also, you may need to manually set the executable bit on the Hex command:

1. Open Terminal App. Applications > Utilities > Terminal
2. Type in: chmod +x /Applications/Hex\ Test.app/Contents/MacOS/Hex

DocX
02-05-2015, 03:15 PM
You, sir, are amazing! Thank you!

deejay
02-05-2015, 03:49 PM
legendary work - many thanks

Baldo
02-05-2015, 04:36 PM
Thank you!

Deathlock
02-05-2015, 06:07 PM
Thanks! It works.

HellFro
02-05-2015, 06:41 PM
This is a godsend, or should I say dragon send...

Thank you so much!

Animedragon
02-05-2015, 06:55 PM
DataDragon to the rescue!!!

Judgenaut
02-05-2015, 07:14 PM
Is this to test arena? I followed instructions and am able to login and everything but its the same old interface besides dev style headers, and no way to access the arena. Am I missing something?

DataDragon
02-05-2015, 07:29 PM
If you didn't get the patch.ini part done correctly, it will just be a normal live client.
It will be very obvious that you have arena access once it works.

N3rd4Christ
02-05-2015, 11:07 PM
I <3 dd

SilverBell
02-06-2015, 04:10 AM
Also, you may need to manually set the executable bit on the Hex command:

chmod +x /Applications/Hex\ Test.app/Contents/MacOS/Hex

Managed everything up until this part. Can you (or someone else) explain how to do this exactly? Right now, when I try to launch the Hex Test app, it bounces once in the dock and doesn't open at all.

Chark
02-06-2015, 12:03 PM
Managed everything up until this part. Can you (or someone else) explain how to do this exactly?

1. Open Terminal App. Applications > Utilities > Terminal. Or you can hit command + spacebar to open spotlight and type in terminal.
2. Type in: chmod +x /Applications/Hex\ Test.app/Contents/MacOS/Hex

Keep in mind if you renamed the app to something other than Hex Test, you'll need to edit that part of the command in step 2. Otherwise you'll get no such file or directory error.

Shinsaku17
02-06-2015, 02:51 PM
Thanks, DataDragon. Respect.

SilverBell
02-06-2015, 04:54 PM
Thanks Chark! That did it, downloading the test server patch now :)

Fugitive787
02-06-2015, 05:11 PM
Any one else having to always manually set the executable bit after a reboot? For what ever reason it's not saving when I shut down.

Idus
02-07-2015, 01:04 PM
Yeah seems the same for me. Only ran it once yesterday, but trying to run again this morning, I had to reset executable.

Veetor
02-07-2015, 08:57 PM
I ran:
cd /Applications
cp -pR Hex.app Hex\ Test.app

then updated the ini file, permissions have been fine for me.

DataDragon
02-09-2015, 12:18 PM
The executable bit is an annoying bug in Unity that we have had trouble tracking down.
We see the code in the patcher doing the work, but it doesn't seem to fire.
Windows doesn't have the same permissions setup, so it doesn't get affected.

Judgenaut
02-11-2015, 08:42 PM
Okay so this is supposed to be for arena, I have no idea what im doing wrong then, I made a txt file and copied the contents above, then changed the name to patch.ini and put it in the contents. Any advice?

Xenavire
02-12-2015, 09:04 AM
Okay so this is supposed to be for arena, I have no idea what im doing wrong then, I made a txt file and copied the contents above, then changed the name to patch.ini and put it in the contents. Any advice?

If you are trying to get it done early, that may mot work. Try again in about 2 hours. Thats about all I can suggest right now.

Shinsaku17
02-12-2015, 03:15 PM
Is this still working for everyone this week? Worked perfect last week, but I'm still having trouble logging in.

UPDATE - Rebuilt the program from step one and now it's working.

Animedragon
02-12-2015, 06:48 PM
Keep trying but get a no go :( rebuilt a couple of times as well

DataDragon
02-13-2015, 06:04 PM
If you are using the proper patch.ini that was shared in the first post, you should have no problem getting the correct client to connect with.
I just did this from scratch again to confirm it still works.
Make sure your patch.ini is set correct, that's the best I can do from here.

Deathlock
02-21-2015, 06:41 PM
Everything was perfect earlier. But this weekend "Loading data" lasts forever and it never gets me into the game. I tried "repair install", checked my patch.ini file, but nothing helps. What else should I try?

Never mind. Server is down at the moment, I believe