PDA

View Full Version : Player Base / Ranked Play

Pulch
05-18-2015, 11:25 AM
Hello all,

I'm fairly new to the game, and so far I really like it. I love MTG however the terrible online client and pay to play system is not for me. Therefore Hex is a really good option. But before I commit to the game I wanted to know a couple of things if you could answer.

1. How many players/popularity:

Maybe sounds silly but I don't enjoy games where very few people play it. Sure Hex doesn't even have a fraction of Hearthstone players, but can anybody roughly guess how many active players are there? 100 online at a time or 1,000 or 10,000? And it is still in Beta so maybe it'll pick up later, maybe not. I just logged in to practice mode and there were only 4 people available for games. AH seems to be more active though.

2. Ranked/constructed?

As far as I know there is no ranked system. I like keeping track of my progression and even if I have a really nice deck it is not very tempting to me to play random contructed games. Especially if there is only 4 people available. Sure tournaments are fun but I'd also like to take my constructed deck for a ride :) So what's the major mode of play?

So far great game with MTG's depth and artistic style, and the community seems to be great too. And I need a card game to play :) MTG online is just a shame, and I don't even want to start with the "game" called Hearthstone. So I hope Hex is good for me.

Thanks for the answers,

Gwaer
05-18-2015, 11:54 AM
Most people are playing the arena at any given time, so it's difficult for us to gauge how many active players there are. Before the arena launched there were a lot more people in the proving grounds.
We're also due for a new set, which means a lot of people are probably a bit less active than normal. You will probably get a better idea of the kinds of playerbase you're looking at once set three launches.