PDA

View Full Version : Rules Question: Enters Play Trigger vs. Bounce



mysnismatt
07-21-2015, 09:36 AM
Per example - if Arborean Rootfather enters play with the damage gem, would it do 0 or 8 damage if it is bounced with Time Ripple with the trigger on the chain?

hex_colin
07-21-2015, 09:37 AM
8

poizonous
07-21-2015, 09:39 AM
Any effect that is on the chain will resolve no matter where the troop is at the time of activation.

mysnismatt
07-21-2015, 09:46 AM
That is slightly unfortunate. Even less ways to deal with Titania's Majesty

Armies
07-21-2015, 09:52 AM
you can use martyr on it though for it to deal 0 damage

nicosharp
07-21-2015, 09:54 AM
you can use martyr on it though for it to deal 0 damage
this!^
An effect that modifies their attack to negate it being there would negate any damage from being done.

Grimshaw
07-21-2015, 10:00 AM
Anyone think we'll see an inflated amount of Necrotic (thanks Xen) starter decks sold between now and the VIP tournies this weekend?

Can you imagine, if after the starter trials, you were awarded a 2nd Martyr?

Xenavire
07-21-2015, 10:06 AM
Anyone think we'll see an inflated amount of Coyotle starter decks sold between now and the VIP tournies this weekend?

Can you imagine, if after the starter trials, you were awarded a 2nd Martyr?

Wasn't it the necrotic deck that has Martyr?

poizonous
07-21-2015, 10:12 AM
Wasn't it the necrotic deck that has Martyr?

no starter deck had martyr i thought

Grimshaw
07-21-2015, 10:14 AM
Wasn't it the necrotic deck that has Martyr?

You are 100% correct. I'll change it to avoid any confusion.

Here's the link: http://hex.tcgbrowser.com/#!/deck=22763

Obviously, the deck list wasn't finalized at the time, so it may not contain Martyr. Only a few more hours, one way or the other.

Thoom
07-21-2015, 10:20 AM
Slightly more complicated version: If Titania's Majesty plays a Briar Legion or other troop that derives its attack value from a "has" effect and gives it the damage gem and you bounce it, what happens then? Does it deal 0 damage because it's no longer in the play zone and thus the 'has' effect does not apply?

nicosharp
07-21-2015, 10:27 AM
Slightly more complicated version: If Titania's Majesty plays a Briar Legion or other troop that derives its attack value from a "has" effect and gives it the damage gem and you bounce it, what happens then? Does it deal 0 damage because it's no longer in the play zone and thus the 'has' effect does not apply?

(I think Xen found a good example in High Tomb Lord - and Oss for Briar)

Xenavire
07-21-2015, 10:27 AM
Slightly more complicated version: If Titania's Majesty plays a Briar Legion or other troop that derives its attack value from a "has" effect and gives it the damage gem and you bounce it, what happens then? Does it deal 0 damage because it's no longer in the play zone and thus the 'has' effect does not apply?

If a troop has 0 attack in a zone, and it is in that zone when the effect to deal damage should resolve, I believe the damage should be 0 in all cases. Example - High Tomb Lord needs to be in play to check the graveyards and will not be able to do damage if it is in your hand of graveyard.

Honeycap, on the other hand, would do the damage, and would be even nastier when you replay it.

ossuary
07-21-2015, 10:49 AM
A Briar Legion that ends up in your hand or graveyard before the damage gem effect resolves would do 0 damage, as it is a 0/0 troop while not in play. Ditto High Tomb Lord, Ozawa, Rune Ear Commander, etc.