PDA

View Full Version : Board Game Industry

Mac_Apple
02-17-2016, 08:27 PM
To the staff, playtesters, and anyone else who has worked in this industry, a simple question; how does one get started in this industry? I'd really like to work for a company but it's not something you really get a degree for... is it?

I have a degree in Telecommunications - Emerging Media (which in my case means I can do a little bit of everything digital and media; editing, writing, graphics, quality control, coding), I have a 400-level proficiency in creative writing (screenplays), and I've been making 'custom' cards, maps, etc, for a variety of games and fandoms since I was old enough to write and draw.

Basically I'm realizing, post-college, what my passion is, and I don't know where else to look for advice. Thank you in advance for any response or suggestions you can provide!

StormKing
02-19-2016, 12:38 AM
You just make games and hope something happens, really. While I've created a lot of games with Cryptozoic, I wouldn't even really think of myself as having "made it" yet. Hopefully some day.

Personally, I got started with Cryptozoic being hired as an artist for a few trading card projects. Was invited to playtest games, showed off a Cerberus style deck building game I put together based on a certain wibbly wobbly IP, and was offered contract work on a lot of the Cerberus games (I came in just after the original DC) as well as help create the Card Wars game and development on a lot of things that have been coming out the last few years. While I didn't design or create for it, I love Portal a lot so working development on the Portal game was awesome. It's all about loving what you're making.