Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Attracting and long term motivation for people new to TCGs

Devoted Emissary

Attracting and long term motivation for people new to TCGs

Hello fellow Hex fans,

this will not be the typical rant about lack of updates, players that want everything for free, elitism or cards that are bugged since the stone ages.

Somehow the mood in these forums and ingame has slightly shifted in the last few weeks, but that is usually something that happens, when a beta game goes stale for a while or moves into more public territory.

So I have made myself some thoughts about how to improve the experience playing Hex for people who are new to the genre without the hardcore crowd calling foul!

Please, before you give me your (hopefully constructive) critisism in return, read all of my thoughts, as I believe, they present a nice opportunity for this game to grow, but it is still a very raw version of thoughts.

As I am fairly new to TCGs myself, I still backed Hex for Collector, as I liked the theme of the game and enjoyed Cory's kickstarter video that much, that I felt the urge to back, even without any knowledge about TCGs.

The concept of a PVE / PVP hybrid seemed to offer me a huge variety of experiences and also it seemed like a nice entry ticket into the scary complex world of TCGs.

Right now, there is not much to do for new players, that are scared to spend money on a game, that is still in beta status and fighting a huge lawsuit, some are just scared not to be able to compete and get a bad experience by being crushed over and over for their money and some others simply do not want to spend money at the game yet, as they need to find out if it is their cup of tea at all.

Nothing controversial yet, I hope