Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Rocket Counters

  1. #1

    Rocket Counters

    Not 100% sure if this is a bug but in response to the use of "Elimination Specialist"'s rocket counter to deal one dmg I casted murder on him and after his death resolved his rocket still hit and killed my character after the fact. Is this a bug or does that card just work this way?

  2. #2
    The Transcended
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    7,860
    Not a bug.

    Once an ability is on the chain, removing the source will not matter. You have to remove the source before the source activates its ability. In your example, you are preventing further activations of the ES, but cannot do anything (by targeting ES) about the single instance that is already in motion. To prevent the activation already in effect, you'd need something like Arcane Shield.

  3. #3
    Now see that is what is confusing to me. Because if I chose to kill him first couldn't he just in response use a rocket counter? I know with several of the other creature abilities I am able to kill them in response and it never resolves. Are those the bugs then? I treat this games rules as I do MTG rules as they are a near warped mirror. So how does something on the chain resolve if it is no longer in play?

  4. #4
    The Transcended
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    7,860
    It works the same as MTG. Exactly the same.

    The ES ability is BASIC, not QUICK. Therefore, if you target it for Murder, he cannot activate in response.

  5. #5
    That's not what I'm saying. I'll try to be more clear and I'm sorry for putting this in the alpha sub forum rather than the beta lol. Ok so

    player A plays ES.
    He resolves and gains 1 rocket counter
    He activates his ability to deal one dmg
    In response player B casts murder
    Murder resolves first and ES is removed from the board
    Yet, the missile still Hits for dmg...

  6. #6
    In mtg the creature is dead before resolution so there is no effect when it's time reaches active on the chain

  7. #7
    The Transcended
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    7,860
    Quote Originally Posted by ZackBlade View Post
    In mtg the creature is dead before resolution so there is no effect when it's time reaches active on the chain
    This is not correct. In MTG (and HEX), the ability is a separate object from the source of the ability. In MTG, if I tap my Prodigal Sorcerer to ping your Prodigal Sorcerer, then you do the same, yours will resolve first and kill mine, but mine will still resolve and kill yours. In order to stop the activation ability, you need Stifle or something similar that can interact with the ability (not with the source). Same in Hex. He activates ES at your Shroomkin, you Murder it; Murder resolves first and kills ES, then ES ability resolves and kills the Shroomkin.

    Analogy. It is like a rocket launcher. Once the rocket is fired, it no longer matters if you destroy the launcher; the rocket will still go to its target.

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by ZackBlade View Post
    In mtg the creature is dead before resolution so there is no effect when it's time reaches active on the chain
    This is only true if the ability reads something like "While this creature is in play...". Otherwise, MtG works precisely how Yoss is explaining it - if the ability is on the stack, it will resolve unless a target is made illegal (by giving it spellshield, removed from the battlefield, etc).

  9. #9
    The Transcended
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    7,860
    FYI, this discussion has moved to the Beta Bugs subforum. Zack created another thread over there.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •