Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1

    Joker and not having a hand?

    Joker says that the other players must choose to either discard a card in their hand, or for the player playing Joker to draw a card.

    If a player doesn't have a hand (from discarding it from a previous supervillain attack), does the player draw a hand to discard a card.. and if not, are they still allowed to choose "discard a card", even though they have no cards to discard?

  2. #2
    Cryptozoic Employee Matt_Hyra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    2,283
    No.
    Rulebook page 12, The Joker entry:
    "The Joker’s game text is not an attack. Each other player
    must choose to either discard a random card or allow the
    player who played The Joker to draw a card. If you have
    no cards in hand, you cannot choose the discard option."
    Matt Hyra
    Cryptozoic R&D

  3. #3
    Glad I saw this as well. On the card it does say Attack, however, in a two player game, when one player has a defense, it doesn't really work, lol.

  4. #4
    Cryptozoic Employee Matt_Hyra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    2,283
    Quote Originally Posted by Qpcloudy View Post
    Glad I saw this as well. On the card it does say Attack, however, in a two player game, when one player has a defense, it doesn't really work, lol.
    His normal game text doesn't say Attack. You are thinking of his First Appearance Attack.
    Matt Hyra
    Cryptozoic R&D

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Matt_Hyra View Post
    His normal game text doesn't say Attack. You are thinking of his First Appearance Attack.
    Indeed I am. Can a "first appearance" not be blocked? Still feels odd in a two player game if one player has a defense.

  6. #6
    Cryptozoic Employee Matt_Hyra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    2,283
    Yes, it can be blocked. In which case the other player puts the card into his own discard pile.
    Matt Hyra
    Cryptozoic R&D

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •