Click here to download the Worldbreaker FAQ (PDF).
Click here to download the Worldbreaker Heroes (PDF).
Click here to download the Worldbreaker Decklist (PDF).
Please post to this thread with any suggestions for improvements to the FAQ.
Please don't reply to this thread with rules questions not related to the FAQ.
--- Worldbreaker FAQ ---
This set is legal for sanctioned Constructed play from December 14, 2010.
1. Rules updates
1.1 Striking with Weapons
* You can only strike with a weapon as your hero attacks or defends. This is the only time you can strike with a weapon.
* Striking a weapon associates that weapon with your hero for this combat. It doesn’t use the chain.
* While associated, your hero gains that weapon’s ATK and damage type. Your hero also has Long-Range while associated with a weapon with Long-Range
* A weapon stops being associated with a hero as it changes zones, changes controllers, stops being a weapon, or if that hero is removed from combat.
* Most previous rules for Totems have been removed. The only rules for all Totems are:
- Totems can’t attack.
- While in play, a Totem is also an ally.
* Totems from Worldbreaker onwards are “Ability Ally” and count as both card types in all zones.
* Previously printed Totems are not receiving functional errata. While in play, they count as both “Ability” and “Ally”, but are only “Ability” in all other zones.
* Equipment is now a card type.
- The six card types are ability, ally, equipment, hero, location, and quest.
* Forms from Worldbreaker onwards aren’t destroyed when you strike with a weapon or play a non-Feral ability.
* Previously printed Forms are not receiving functional errata, so striking with a weapon and playing non-Feral abilities will still destroy them.
2. New keyword powers
* Aberration is a keyword power that characters can have. It means:
Prevent all non-combat damage that would be dealt to this character.
* Artifact is a keyword power that cards can have. It means:
You may play this card from your graveyard.
- Playing a card from your graveyard is otherwise the same as doing so from your hand. For example, any costs must still be paid, and any restrictions must still be observed.
* Stash: [Text] is a keyword power that cards can have. It means:
As this card enters your resource row from anywhere, if it would enter face down, you may have it enter face up, then immediately turn it face down instead. When you do, [text].
- As a card with such a power enters your resource row face down, you may stash it no matter where it came from or whether it had powers there. For example, you may stash a card that is put into your resource row from play while it has no powers.
- While you stash, a card is blank except for its stash power. As a result, it doesn’t violate uniqueness.
- A triggered effect from a card’s stash power is controlled by the player whose resource row that card enters.
- Some Mounts have a power that triggers “when you place a resource into your resource row face up.” Such a power triggers when you stash a resource that is placed. You choose in what order the Mount and stash triggered effects are added to the chain.
- Some Green Dragonkin have a power that triggers “when a resource you control is turned face down.” Such a power triggers when you stash. You choose in what order the Dragonkin and stash triggered effects are added to the chain. However, if such a power is triggered by a quest being completed, it will resolve before the reward
effect from that quest does.
- You can’t stash if keywords have been sabotaged.
* Time is Money is a keyword power that characters can have. It means:
This character can use [Activate] powers from the turn it enters your party.
3. Specific cards
Alexstrasza the Life-Binder, 25, Master Hero—Red Dragonkin Aspect, 0 [Fire] / 40 Health
You pay (X) less to play Alexstrasza, where X is the combined ATK of allies you control.
Assault 5 <p> Allies you control can't be destroyed.
Allies you control can still be damaged, and will accumulate any damage dealt to or put on on them. Damage can’t be put on a character in excess of its health. Destruction “by the game” (such as uniqueness violations) can’t be stopped.
Master heroes start the game in a deck. A deck can include a Master hero with a certain name only if it contains no Master heroes with any other name. A Master hero enters a party face up with the same attachments, counters, damage, and ready/exhausted state as that party’s previous hero, and then that previous hero is removed from the game. A Master hero can’t be flipped or turned face down. Any links targeting that previous hero now target the Master hero, and any modifiers to that previous hero now apply to the Master hero within their durations.
Blessing of the Kindred, 1, Paladin, Instant Ability—Protection Blessing
Ongoing: As this ability enters play, name a class. <p> Friendly allies of that class have +1 / +1.
This has received errata. The bold text above updates the printed text.
The ten classes are Death Knight, Druid, Hunter, Mage, Paladin, Priest, Rogue, Shaman, Warlock, and Warrior.
Boomer, 2, Hunter, Ally—Bat, Pet (1), 3 [Nature] / 3 Health
Once on each of your turns: Emit a sonic blast >>> Exhaust target hero or ally. This ally deals 1 nature damage to it.
You can target an exhausted character and it will be dealt 1 nature damage.
Contagious Poison, 1, Rogue, Instant Ability—Assassination Poison
Attach to target hero or ally that was dealt combat damage by your hero this turn.
Ongoing: At the start of your turn, you may reattach this ability to target hero or ally. Then, your hero deals 2 nature damage to attached character.
Your hero deals damage to attached character, even if you don’t reattach this.
Emerald Lifewarden, 4, Ally—Green Dragonkin, 3 [Nature] / 3 Health
You can place an additional resource on each of your turns.
Stash: Reveal the top card of your deck. If it's a quest, put it into your hand.
Additional resources can be placed face up or down. Multiple copies of this are cumulative. For example, if you control two, you can place two additional resources, and so on. To determine if you can place an additional resource, check if the number of additional resources you’ve already placed this turn is less than the number of copies of this you currently control. Once a resource has been placed on the chain, it can’t be interrupted by removing this from play in response, nor will such removal cause any resources to be destroyed.
Eranikus, 5, Ally—Green Dragonkin Consort, Eranikus (1), 5 [Nature] / 6 Health
At the start of your turn, reveal the top card of your deck, then place it into your resource row ready as an additional resource.
Quests and locations may be placed face up or face down. Other card types can be placed only face down. If that revealed card has a stash power, you may stash it.
Flourish, 3, Druid, Ability—Balance
Reveal the top card of your deck. You may place it into your resource row exhausted as an additional resource.
Stash: Your hero heals 2 damage from itself.
Furan Rookbane, 6, Alliance, Ally—Night Elf Druid, 6 [Arcane] / 5 Health
When this ally enters play, reveal the top card of your deck. You may place it into your resource row exhausted as an additional resource.
King Genn Greymane, 5, Alliance, Ally—Worgen Warrior King, Genn (1), 4 [Melee] / 4 Health
Aberration <p> This ally has +2 / +2 for each other Worgen you control.
While this ally is ready, opposing heroes and allies can't attack other Worgen you control.
This has received errata. The bold text above updates the printed text.
Korialstrasz, 6, Ally—Red Dragonkin Consort, Korialstrasz (1), 5[Fire] / 6 Health
When you play an ally, put X 1 [Fire] / 1 [Health] Red Dragonkin ally tokens into play, where X is that ally's cost.
Playing this doesn't trigger its own power.
Mana Shift, 5, Mage, Ability—Arcane
Gain control of any number of opposing abilities with combined cost less than or equal to the number of resources you control. For each of those abilities that's attached, you may reattach it.
You control each of those abilities until it leaves play. To reattach an ability, detach it and then attach it to another card in play that matches its attach description. This doesn’t add it to the chain, so its non-ongoing text isn’t reprocessed. You may reattach it to an untargetable card even if its attach description is targeted.