Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 38

Thread: Elimination specialist

  1. #11
    Also, did this in response to wind whisperer and to hop's iron and all cards worked as they do in mtg. You don't need a card that cancels a chain effect if the card in play is no longer in play at the time of resolution then there is no text to say what would have happened in play.

  2. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by ZackBlade View Post
    Ok I'm going to drop it. As a mtg judge that is not what I know to be true. Effects such as sac to do are triggers of payment effects, if the creature dies before sac triggers on the stack then there is no resolution for that ability. The same is true in mtg. Ex. Creature taps to untap xyz. You kill the creature before it can resolve it's tap effect and boom, nothing happens
    I am also a certified judge for MtG, and I would bet every last one of my Judge Foils that you are incorrect about this. I think you might be confused regarding the rule about what happens when an ability's target leaves play, and mixing it up with the ability's source.

  3. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by ZackBlade View Post
    Effects such as sac to do are triggers of payment effects, if the creature dies before sac triggers on the stack then there is no resolution for that ability.
    Are you talking about sacrifice as a cost, rather than an effect? Because a troop that is sacrificed as a cost is sent to the graveyard before the ability goes on the stack, and that means sac effects pretty much can't be stopped unless it has a target and you remove it (but you wouldn't get the sacrificed troop back).

    These things work exactly the same in both games, and if you think otherwise, I question you actually being a judge.
    Xenavire, proud guild leader for The Lions Share.
    http://i307.photobucket.com/albums/n...erlinsmall.png

  4. #14
    Sorry Hop'hiro**

    My buddy is addicted to that card

  5. #15
    The Transcended
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    7,860
    Relevant MTG rules sections, 602 and 608. Zack, please feel free to cite a specific subparagraph, since you're a judge and all.

  6. #16
    Ok I'm going to just stop responding. I wanted to ask a question of this new game and hear from an administrator not a few folks who call me into question or to be berated online. If I failed to accurately explain something then we are at an impasse. Forget I brought it up as I do forget hex and mtg do have differences. As for a judge I'm only a L2 and have never had and issue with rules even with other judges. Thank you all for being so civil.

  7. #17
    Quote Originally Posted by ZackBlade View Post
    I did this to a stargazer and to the 1 drop mana dork and both effects failed to resolve after the death of the creature. This was 2 nights ago
    I don't think those abilities even use the chain. They don't have targets (This is a rule that's different from MtG, abilities without targets do not use the chain and resolve immediately.)

    That's probably why you're confused. You didn't see those abilities resolve, because they resolve earlier than you were expecting..

  8. #18
    The Transcended
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    7,860
    Scamma, they changed that. All activated abilities use the chain. It is only untargeted triggered abilities that bypass.

  9. #19
    Quote Originally Posted by Yoss View Post
    Scamma, they changed that. All activated abilities use the chain. It is only untargeted triggered abilities that bypass.
    You're right. I forgot. Yeah, then those abilities failing to resolve is odd. We should look into it.

  10. #20
    Sorry one last thing. I just want to clear up so I have it noted. Are ya'll assuming "in response" to a chain is after a token is removed to pay for an effect ? Often, in response is a term referring to taking an action after declaration of attempt of action.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •