Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 38 of 38

Thread: Elimination specialist

  1. #31
    Quote Originally Posted by ZackBlade View Post
    Again, I apologize as I'm not used to using a forum, much less my smartphone, to text commumicate.

    What I'm saying is:

    PPlayer A declares they intend to use an ability
    In response , before the ability has been triggered or used
    Player B has priority to take an action that would prevent the activation of that ability.

    This is how instant speed things generally work.

    Example again:

    Player A has a stargazer he declares he intends to use the tap ability to gain 2 life

    In response to declaration, player B murders the stargazer before it has been tapped to prevent it's ability from being used.

    This is as clear as I am capable of getting. Again sorry for having a hard time doing so
    Yea...that's not how it works at all in magic or hex. Once a player has priority, he can activate a creatures ability and put it on the stack without the other player having priority at any point within that time. Now once that is done, the other player will get priority before the ability resolves.
    Read all about Hex straight from the pros at HexTCGPro.com!
    Stream: www.twitch.tv/Disordia

  2. #32
    Xena, sorry for the name mispelling, again I'm working off of a smartphone and your name is complicated. My apologizes. I was only condescending due to the attitude you already showed towards myself. I'm sorry for not taking the "higher ground".



    Again, I feel the point is lost as I lack the ability to accurately describe what I'm talking about.

  3. #33
    Okay, I don't know how you ever passed your level 2 judge test, or even if you are a level 2 judge.

    In magic, I don't have to explain to my opponent that I'm about to use my Prodigal Sorcerer to give him a chance to respond. If I have priority, I'm simply going to tap him to add his ability to the stack and you can't do anything to stop it. You can kill him in response all you want but you're taking one damage. This is on like page 6 of the original MTG rule book and something that everyone knows whether you're a judge or not.

    This has nothing to do with not being familiar with the forums or using a smart phone to communicate. You just don't know the rules, which is fine, except that you keep insisting that you do and that we're all wrong. The example that you cited in the OP is working as intended.

    - John

  4. #34
    Yeah, I don't think official Magic rules work that way either, but they definitely don't work that way in Hex. There is no announcing. You either have priority, or you don't. If Player A activates a troop ability, that ability is going to resolve no matter what (assuming the target remains legal), even if Player B kills the troop in response. Player B does not get priority after an activation until the activated ability is already on the chain.
    --ossuary

    "Love all, trust a few, do wrong to none."
    - Shakespeare, All's Well That Ends Well

  5. #35
    Quote Originally Posted by ZackBlade View Post
    Xena, sorry for the name mispelling, again I'm working off of a smartphone and your name is complicated. My apologizes. I was only condescending due to the attitude you already showed towards myself. I'm sorry for not taking the "higher ground".



    Again, I feel the point is lost as I lack the ability to accurately describe what I'm talking about.

    I was being polite actually - I am not the only one questioning you being a judge, and considering that everyone here has said definitively that you are wrong and your understanding is flawed, we are completely justified in wondering about your ability to be a judge.

    Then you decided to be condescending, which I found to be quite unpleasant. I will forgive the typo, I know the curse of typing with a smartphone (forever editing posts later because my thumb pressed 'b' instead of 'space'), but there really was no call for you to be condescending to me. I was working off correct information (according to everyone in this thread) and you seem to be working off flawed information - if you can point to official rulings to prove us all wrong, be my guest. But please keep it civil.
    Xenavire, proud guild leader for The Lions Share.
    http://i307.photobucket.com/albums/n...erlinsmall.png

  6. #36
    Ok thanks everyone for your input. Have a good day !! = )

  7. #37
    Quote Originally Posted by Xenavire View Post
    I was being polite actually - I am not the only one questioning you being a judge, and considering that everyone here has said definitively that you are wrong and your understanding is flawed, we are completely justified in wondering about your ability to be a judge.
    Actually, I'm happy to take their claim of being a judge at face value. I've got no more proof of my certification than they do, and I'm making the same claim. Being a judge doesn't stop someone from being wrong, however. I've known a judge with more experience than me who confidently asserted that a creature with two instances of first strike dealt damage before a creature with one instance of first strike (not at all true). Even judges can have misunderstandings of certain rules. I think what we have here is a misunderstanding coupled with an admitted failure of communication.

  8. #38
    Quote Originally Posted by jtatta View Post
    In magic, I don't have to explain to my opponent that I'm about to use my Prodigal Sorcerer to give him a chance to respond. If I have priority, I'm simply going to tap him to add his ability to the stack and you can't do anything to stop it. You can kill him in response all you want but you're taking one damage. This is on like page 6 of the original MTG rule book and something that everyone knows whether you're a judge or not.
    There actually is a tournament rule similar to what ZackBlade is talking about. It has to do with shortcuts and player communication. It applies when someone improperly acts out of priority. Which is not possible to do in Hex, of course. But I think it may be the source of the confusion.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •