Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 38

Thread: Elimination specialist

  1. #1

    Elimination specialist

    player A plays ES.
    He resolves and gains 1 rocket counter
    He activates his ability to deal one dmg
    In response player B casts murder
    Murder resolves first and ES is removed from the board
    Yet, the missile still Hits for dmg..

    I posted this in the alpha bug forum by accident sorry.
    I want to know if this is how hex works as I am a mtg player and normally this chain would result in the cancel of ES' s ability

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Once an ability is on the chain it does not rely on its source being in play to resolve. Abilities used by a troop will fully resolve, even if the troop is dead.

    This is also true in Magic with abilities on the stack. Think about abilities like "Sacrifice this creature: Deal 1 damage to target creature." If the creature had to be alive to deal the damage, then the ability would be useless.

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by ZackBlade View Post
    I want to know if this is how hex works as I am a mtg player and normally this chain would result in the cancel of ES' s ability
    ...No, it wouldn't. Once an ability goes on the stack, it has to be specifically countered to be stopped, killing the creature that activated the ability would do nothing. This is exactly the same in MTG and Hex.
    Xenavire, proud guild leader for The Lions Share.
    http://i307.photobucket.com/albums/n...erlinsmall.png

  4. #4
    Zack, I think you might be thinking of MtG's rules for removing the TARGET, rather than the SOURCE. Even in Magic, as the others have said, removing the source of an effect on the chain doesn't stop the effect from going off. The effect only fizzles if you remove the target.

    This is working exactly like it's supposed to.
    --ossuary

    "Love all, trust a few, do wrong to none."
    - Shakespeare, All's Well That Ends Well

  5. #5
    Ok I'm going to drop it. As a mtg judge that is not what I know to be true. Effects such as sac to do are triggers of payment effects, if the creature dies before sac triggers on the stack then there is no resolution for that ability. The same is true in mtg. Ex. Creature taps to untap xyz. You kill the creature before it can resolve it's tap effect and boom, nothing happens

  6. #6
    The Transcended
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    7,860
    Since you now have two threads for this, I'll cross-quote what I answered you in the original thread.

    Quote Originally Posted by Yoss View Post
    This is not correct. In MTG (and HEX), the ability is a separate object from the source of the ability. In MTG, if I tap my Prodigal Sorcerer to ping your Prodigal Sorcerer, then you do the same, yours will resolve first and kill mine, but mine will still resolve and kill yours. In order to stop the activation ability, you need Stifle or something similar that can interact with the ability (not with the source). Same in Hex. He activates ES at your Shroomkin, you Murder it; Murder resolves first and kills ES, then ES ability resolves and kills the Shroomkin.

    Analogy. It is like a rocket launcher. Once the rocket is fired, it no longer matters if you destroy the launcher; the rocket will still go to its target.

  7. #7
    Additionally then, the bug would be with several other cards on hex that I have killed before their activation on the chain and their abilities fizzing

  8. #8
    The Transcended
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    7,860
    Quote Originally Posted by ZackBlade View Post
    Additionally then, the bug would be with several other cards on hex that I have killed before their activation on the chain and their abilities fizzing
    Such as?

  9. #9
    Again, I did apologize as I didn't realize it was in the alpha bug area and this occurred in beta. My apologies again.

  10. #10
    I did this to a stargazer and to the 1 drop mana dork and both effects failed to resolve after the death of the creature. This was 2 nights ago

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •