Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
  1. #1

    Impossible Mode Possessions

    My group often plays with my deck that is a mix of the original and Crisis 1 and 2, with some of the duplicates and less useful or way overpowered cards removed. We also usually mix up the super villains so it's about half Impossible Mode. Ran into this situation:

    Very early in the game I managed to buy Possession. The first super villain after the starter was Impossible Mode Atrocitus. The player to my left bought IM Atrocitus (IMA). The next time I played Possession, she had to attack herself with IMA's First Appearance: Attack and put four cards under her Super Hero, then put IMA back in her hand. The cards are stuck there since IMA is not defeated. I saw that since it was early in the game, it was very likely that I would be Possessing her IMA repeatedly and soon her whole deck would be under her Super Hero. I also had several cards to help me cycle through my deck (Penguin, Batmobile...)

    We adjusted the rule for the sake of competition and good sportsmanship, but I was curious how other people handle overly abusive situations like this or if CZE had a preference on how they would soften this situation. In pure play, of course, that player is just SOL.

    How about: A player's super villain is considered to have been defeated once it is destroyed or shuffled back into a player's deck from the discard pile. (If the super villain gets put into a player's hand or deck through any other means, it is not considered to have been defeated.)
    Last edited by andymo24; 02-12-2016 at 09:50 AM. Reason: clarification in parenthesis at the end

  2. #2
    First Appearance Attacks aren't attacks that players get to use. So, when you play Possession, she should not be putting cards under her Super Hero to begin with.

    First Appearance Attack =/= Attack
    Stack Ongoing =/= Ongoing

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by bigtipper View Post
    First Appearance Attacks aren't attacks that players get to use. So, when you play Possession, she should not be putting cards under her Super Hero to begin with.

    First Appearance Attack =/= Attack
    Stack Ongoing =/= Ongoing
    To some degree, that's true. However, keep in mind the ruling that The Comedian can buy any Super-Villain with a First Appearance attack for 1 less, since it counts as having an Attack. I'm not sure if this counts as an exception or not, but maybe the overall wording on a card like Possession or Akuma's Gi (Street Fighter) should be a bit clearer.

  4. #4
    Cryptozoic Employee Matt_Hyra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    2,225
    A FAA is an Attack, it's just not an Attack that is played from hand, so Possession doesn't work on it.
    Matt Hyra
    Cryptozoic R&D

  5. #5
    Also, I don't think this question was ever answered in the discussion linked in my next post below:
    zetaman00: "Another question that came up in our game was in the same scenario where the player is being attacked because of possession can you use insanity(the defense from forever evil) to put a defense from your discard into your hand? or would you technically not be attacking yourself? thank you"
    Last edited by andymo24; 02-12-2016 at 10:50 AM. Reason: quoted Matt in hopes that it notifies him and this isn't lost forever, chronology and continuity

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Matt_Hyra View Post
    A FAA is an Attack, it's just not an Attack that is played from hand, so Possession doesn't work on it.
    Matt, what happened to this ruling?
    Possession and FAA
    Last edited by andymo24; 02-12-2016 at 10:52 AM.

  7. #7
    Cryptozoic Employee Matt_Hyra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    2,225
    Quote Originally Posted by andymo24 View Post
    Matt, what happened to this ruling?
    Possession and FAA
    Nice digging!
    I updated that rule to conform to reality. FAA's only ever work when flipped up on the stack.

    Quote Originally Posted by andymo24 View Post
    Also, I don't think this question was ever answered in that discussion:
    zetaman00: "Another question that came up in our game was in the same scenario where the player is being attacked because of possession can you use insanity(the defense from forever evil) to put a defense from your discard into your hand? or would you technically not be attacking yourself? thank you"
    You are attacking yourself, so that would work.
    Matt Hyra
    Cryptozoic R&D

  8. #8
    Thanks Matt, I hope that this discussion makes up for my brain fart on this Joker question. The question came up months ago and I forgot that my group already knew the answer and I asked here because all I remembered at the moment was how mad one guy was when several turns in a row he was forced to discard most/all of his hand and another player had Joker and IM Joker and multiple cards that let him cycle and stack his deck so that he played both Jokers in several turns. He's still mad.

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by LRoq617 View Post
    To some degree, that's true. However, keep in mind the ruling that The Comedian can buy any Super-Villain with a First Appearance attack for 1 less, since it counts as having an Attack. I'm not sure if this counts as an exception or not, but maybe the overall wording on a card like Possession or Akuma's Gi (Street Fighter) should be a bit clearer.
    So by this logic, are Stack Ongoing cards considered Ongoing cards in reference to the effects of other cards? Sorry if this is already answered in the clarification thread.

  10. #10
    Cryptozoic Employee Matt_Hyra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    2,225
    OK, clearly the Possession vs The Comedian rulings are pretty inconsistent, so we've decided to make a rule that should clear things up:

    First Appearance - Attack text is considered not to exist on the card after the Attack resolves. This prevents it from being seen by Possession and The Comedian. However, cards that specifically reference First Appearance - Attacks do see the text (this allows the Crisis card "World Domination" to function).

    Stack Ongoing text does not exist when away from the Super-Villain stack, unless a card specifically references Stack Ongoing.


    If you find a flaw in these, I will modify the ruling. Thanks!
    Matt Hyra
    Cryptozoic R&D

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •