Page 3 of 37 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 361
  1. #21
    Quote Originally Posted by Matt_Hyra View Post
    You cannot attempt to destroy Starters while The Outsider is watching.
    You don't get any benefit from failing to destroy a Starter.
    Does this apply as well to Promise to a Friend (minus the Starter restriction)? I think our confusion came from how most of the effects of these cards are laid out by stating that you destroy a card and get an effect compared to destroy a card... if you destroyed a card effect happens. Can you play even play destroy cards when Promise to a Friend is out or The Outsider is out and your only option is Starters?
    DC COMICS DECK BUILDING GAME FAN!!!

  2. #22
    Likewise, how does that impact a card like Earth-3? Do you no longer get to reveal the top card of your deck because the Location is revealing it to check if it's a Punch so you can destroy it? Or do you still get to reveal the top card and just don't get to destroy Punches/gain VP?

  3. #23
    Cryptozoic Employee Matt_Hyra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    1,825
    Quote Originally Posted by BenJazz View Post
    Does this apply as well to Promise to a Friend (minus the Starter restriction)? I think our confusion came from how most of the effects of these cards are laid out by stating that you destroy a card and get an effect compared to destroy a card... if you destroyed a card effect happens. Can you play even play destroy cards when Promise to a Friend is out or The Outsider is out and your only option is Starters?
    You can play the card, but you can't choose Starter.
    You can play a destroy card with Promise out, but it doesn't destroy anything.
    Matt Hyra
    Cryptozoic R&D

  4. #24
    Cryptozoic Employee Matt_Hyra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    1,825
    Quote Originally Posted by GuruGuru214 View Post
    Likewise, how does that impact a card like Earth-3? Do you no longer get to reveal the top card of your deck because the Location is revealing it to check if it's a Punch so you can destroy it? Or do you still get to reveal the top card and just don't get to destroy Punches/gain VP?
    You reveal it, but you don't destroy a Starter you find.
    Matt Hyra
    Cryptozoic R&D

  5. #25
    How does Johnny Quick get defeated? If you can't draw cards on your turn, how are you supposed to generate power to knock him out? Technically, draw phase is one of the last things you do during your turn, but since it's still your turn, you can't draw. Just because we were playing it the first time and wanted to see how the rest of the game went, we played it as you can't draw cards through abilities or other cards, but still got your hand of five at the end of your turn. May be reading too much into it, but please clarify?

  6. #26
    Quote Originally Posted by rebelrey7248 View Post
    How does Johnny Quick get defeated? If you can't draw cards on your turn, how are you supposed to generate power to knock him out? Technically, draw phase is one of the last things you do during your turn, but since it's still your turn, you can't draw. Just because we were playing it the first time and wanted to see how the rest of the game went, we played it as you can't draw cards through abilities or other cards, but still got your hand of five at the end of your turn. May be reading too much into it, but please clarify?
    Crypto has stated that the "End of Turn" sequence is not part of any players turn and thus effects or character abilities that state during your turn or once per turn or on another players turn don't work during the End of Turn Sequence.
    DC COMICS DECK BUILDING GAME FAN!!!

  7. #27
    Cryptozoic Employee Matt_Hyra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    1,825
    Correct. The first step of the End of Turn sequence says: Your turn is now over. (See FE or TT rulebook back cover)
    You draw your new hand after that.
    Matt Hyra
    Cryptozoic R&D

  8. #28
    Would abilities from characters who have extra card draws at the end of their turn (Wonderwoman, Lex Luther, I think there's one in Crisis 3?) still trigger then while that super villain is out, because those take place at the end of turn?

  9. #29
    If Captain Boomerang has a 0 VP card in his discard pile along with a Weakness at the start of his turn, is the Weakness the only option he may choose to return to his hand? (Same goes for Bizarro Power)

  10. #30
    Quote Originally Posted by SushiSquid View Post
    Would abilities from characters who have extra card draws at the end of their turn (Wonderwoman, Lex Luther, I think there's one in Crisis 3?) still trigger then while that super villain is out, because those take place at the end of turn?
    Yes, they take place after your turn has ended. (See turn sequence summary in Forever Evil or Teen Titans rulebook if you have those.)
    Nathaniel Yamaguchi
    CZE Playtester & Designer

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •