Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Hybrid View

  1. #1

    Multiverse confrontation question

    Clarification, please. With multiverse you are allowed to both confront and purchase in the same turn, but are you allowed to purchase prior to the confrontation? For example, if you were using Aquaman (character) and you wanted to put a card from the lineup on top of your deck in order to draw it and use it with the confrontation.
    Thank you!

  2. #2
    Cryptozoic Employee Matt_Hyra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    2,035
    Yes, you could also buy beforehand, but that might not be a great plan if they have any Block cards.
    Matt Hyra
    Cryptozoic R&D

  3. #3
    I'm confused. I thought the whole point of confronting was that you had to commit to it and not be able to purchase cards, but this statement counteracts that.

  4. #4
    Cryptozoic Employee Matt_Hyra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    2,035
    Quote Originally Posted by LRoq617 View Post
    I'm confused. I thought the whole point of confronting was that you had to commit to it and not be able to purchase cards, but this statement counteracts that.
    Bottom of MULTIVERSE Rulebook page 4:
    "After generating your Power, you may choose to Confront or not. After Confronting, you may spend additional Power to buy cards as usual. If your Confrontation is unsuccessful, your turn ends and your Power is lost."

    So there is an element of commitment, because if you fail, you lose everything.
    Matt Hyra
    Cryptozoic R&D

  5. #5
    Hi Matt,

    Sorry if you keep having to repeat yourself but when our group read "After confronting you may spend additional power to buy cards as usual" as that you can only buy cards AFTER you have finished your confrontation.

    I'm assuming now, from your comment, that this isn't the case. Can you clarify?

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Cryptozoic Employee Matt_Hyra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    2,035
    Quote Originally Posted by FasterTheChase View Post
    Hi Matt,

    Sorry if you keep having to repeat yourself but when our group read "After confronting you may spend additional power to buy cards as usual" as that you can only buy cards AFTER you have finished your confrontation.

    I'm assuming now, from your comment, that this isn't the case. Can you clarify?

    Thanks
    You can buy cards before and/or after, but it is risky to use up Power before Confronting.
    Matt Hyra
    Cryptozoic R&D

  7. #7
    i thought you had to declare a confrontation before you played your cards??? or is it different for rivals and confrontations? if it is its silly cause its the same mechanic

    in fact im gonna contradict Matts ruling here. Rival, Confrontations and Multiverse all have confrontation rules. now i know that rivals and confrontations are different game setups BUT they are based on the core game of DC deckbuilder and have cards that are compatible with standard DC deckbuilder. for example if i wanted to instead of the normal characters i could use the confrontation/Rivals characters and add the confrontation/Block cards as the main deck. then have the multiverse in the game as a sidebar. now because both games use a form of confrontation. the idea is the same. you use your power to either confront your opponents character, or in this case go after the city to your left. either way the rule set should be the same. and since both rule sets use the same exact name "confrontation" the most recent rule for confrontation is in the Confrontations set. so honestly to keep the confusion down, the rivals/confrontations rule should have been amended to the multiverse box set.

    . you SHOULD declare your confrontation before you play your cards,
    .. when confronting you disable your ability to buy cards except what you are confronting for,
    ... resolve effects of cards you play,
    .... let your opponent play block cards,
    ..... then resolve the confrontation.

    in my opinion if you own all the sets like i do, then the Confrontation Box rules trump the Multiverse rule because it is the most recent rule for confrontation. and it should also be the standing rule because you could potentially pull rivals and confrontaions cards from the multiverse randomize deck.
    Last edited by CushionRide; 01-31-2018 at 10:20 PM.

  8. #8
    Cryptozoic Employee Matt_Hyra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    2,035
    In Rivals and Confrontations, you do declare it at start of turn. They were asking about Multiverse, where it is not start of turn.
    Matt Hyra
    Cryptozoic R&D

  9. #9
    I understand that but what im saying is when you get down to it, this is all DC Deckbuilder. if you are going to have 2 similar mechanics for 2 different sets and they have the same name, then they should have the same rules, it avoids confusion and it simplifies the game.

  10. #10
    The difference being that they're two completely different styles of play. Confrontations is built around blocks, assists, and team mechanics. Multiverse is not, and requiring one to commit themselves to a confrontation in that format will make even the smallest case of run-away-winner syndrome even worse.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •