Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Card combo question

  1. #1

    Card combo question

    I'm new to TCG's

    Do we know yet what would happen in the following scenario..

    I got a Vampire King and the enemy has 2 troops.
    I play extinction (destroy all creatures)
    Would all creatures die and then I would get 2 vampires??

  2. #2
    No. The reason that would not work is because the Vamp King dies too and his ability will only proc if he is still in play.

  3. #3

  4. #4
    Gigantisaur
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    941
    Quote Originally Posted by Maphalux View Post
    No. The reason that would not work is because the Vamp King dies too and his ability will only proc if he is still in play.
    Not so fast there.
    it really depends on the rules, which we don't know yet.
    http://sigs.enjin.com/sig/enjin-4368...18944-blue.png

    Grand King that loves collecting things twice because he thinks he's a pro player.

  5. #5
    Well, I'll give you that there might be some wonky rule for how things go on the chain, but it says right on the vampire card "When an opposing troop dies, if this troop is in play, transform that troop into a Vampire and put it into play under your control." With Extinction everything dies at the same time, including the King, so I can't see how his ability would be able to proc in this scenario.

  6. #6
    We know from the Q&A with Ben Stoll that creatures who die don't "proc" their ability and instead "fizzle." So the Vampire King definitely would NOT leave 2 vampires in play. If an effect goes on the stack, but the target isn't there when the stack resolves (or in this case, the King is no longer in play himself), the effect fails - the same as in Magic.
    --ossuary

    "Love all, trust a few, do wrong to none."
    - Shakespeare, All's Well That Ends Well

  7. #7
    High Tomb Lord
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Hove, UK. Formerly ipswich
    Posts
    2,459
    in wowtcg when things die simultaneously powers normally trigger upon destruction now we know nothing on these rules as has been said but it wouldn't be all that strange for it to work this way as well.

    the above wording very rough though so please remember that. please dont take this as the answer either, just advice based on a situation ive seen.

    its going to boil down to what the word dies does in hex and hen the timings are considered.

    edit: was checking rules as writing this and seems im incorrect so disregard please =)

  8. #8
    Eternal Guardian
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    WDM, IA
    Posts
    3,031
    Quote Originally Posted by ossuary View Post
    We know from the Q&A with Ben Stoll that creatures who die don't "proc" their ability and instead "fizzle." So the Vampire King definitely would NOT leave 2 vampires in play. If an effect goes on the stack, but the target isn't there when the stack resolves (or in this case, the King is no longer in play himself), the effect fails - the same as in Magic.

    That isn't quite the case here as there is no targeting involved. It's the "if" condition that is relevant in this case. In WoW, if his text was "when an opposing troops dies..." with no "if" condition, you would get the vampires as his power sees the other troops die even though he himself is dying. However with the "if" condition, the trigger will check upon resolution to see if that is still true.

    If it was a blanket rule that cards don't trigger when they leave play at the same time as the event they are looking for happens, then the "if they are in play" clause is irrelevant.
    Go Fish

  9. #9
    http://hextcg.wikia.com/wiki/Vampire_King
    http://hextcg.wikia.com/wiki/Extinction

    Let's talk it out.

    Everything has to be coded in an order so we can refer to the "stack" as an abstract reference to the order this ends up working.

    Extinction applies to all troops. Vampire King is a troop so this spell destroys Vampire King, which causes the card to die.

    So you:

    1. Cast Extinction.
    2. All troops are destroyed - they die, including Vampire King.
    3. Vampire King's ability is stacked.
    4. Code logic is going to look something like this (I know a developer somewhere is going to cringe but bear with me. Imagine a dog with a chemistry set here).

    If Vampire King(Player1) status = InPlay
    If Troop(Player 2)= Dead Then Set Troops(Player2)=Vampire(Player1)
    Set Vampire(Player1) status = InPlay

    The reason for this is because the Vampire King has to be in play due the text "...if this troops is in play...". This logic will never play out because the Vampire King's status will not = InPlay. It will = NotInPlay or "Dead" so the troops will never be turned into Vampires and the spell will "sizzle" into an end statement or some such nonsense although graphically it will be much prettier.
    Last edited by Connected; 08-15-2013 at 02:18 PM.

  10. #10
    I was going to argue against you Connected, but I think your right. Otherwise the text "if this troop is in play" is extraneous, as all abilities on all cards are assumed to have only effect while in play unless stated otherwise. So the statement on Vampire King might have been placed to make the mass removal cheese of Vampire King not work.

    I guess the only way to know for certain is to either ask Ben at Gen Con or test it live in Alpha/Beta.
    unnamed-council.com

    Inner Council - The Enigma Engine
    Grand King Backer

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •