Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Menacing Gralk Poorly Implemented/Worded

  1. #1

    Menacing Gralk Poorly Implemented/Worded

    Yesterday I was playing a game after several months and I came up against the Menacing Gralk, a troop card that states the following effect:

    When this troop enters play, exhaust each opposing troop. Those troops can't ready during their controller's next ready step.

    I highlighted "those" in bold for the following reason: I had the upper hand and my cards were exhausted for the most part when it came into play and clearly it exhausted my other 2-3 cards that were in defensive ready mode. I thought it was a no big deal. Given the syntax of the card my other cards would ready as they hadn't been directly exhausted by the Menacing Gralk, much to my surprise they were all unable to ready and I lost the game.

    I believe that the card is either bugged or that the meaning of the card is misinterpreted. Cards that are already exhausted should not be unable to ready in the next turn as the Gralk didn't cause them to reach exhaustion.

    What do you guys think?

  2. #2
    Eternal Guardian
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    WDM, IA
    Posts
    3,031
    "Those troops" refers to each opposing troop, not those that were actually exhausted by the effect. If they intended it to be the other way it would specifically say, "Those troops that were exhausted this way don't ready." They had similar effects in their WoW TCG and that was exactly how they handled the distinction.
    Last edited by houjix; 01-05-2014 at 10:08 AM.
    Go Fish

  3. #3
    Master Theorycrafter
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Liberty Lake, WA
    Posts
    865
    I agree with Fiz.

    The use of the pronoun "those" immediately after defining a specific group makes for confusion. The card is clearly stating that it will only prevent the cards it exhausts from readying; other troops already exhausted are implied to be immune to the ability.

    This is another of those situations where everyone can agree the text is a bit too ambiguous at the moment.

  4. #4
    It works as I expected it to work based on the text. As houjix says, if they wanted it to be otherwise the card would say "Troops exhausted this way.." It pretty clearly affects "each opposing troop."

  5. #5
    Sensei of the Wounded Petal
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    284
    Quote Originally Posted by Malakili View Post
    It works as I expected it to work based on the text. As houjix says, if they wanted it to be otherwise the card would say "Troops exhausted this way.." It pretty clearly affects "each opposing troop."
    well, not if u come from MTG actually... it would have stated (in mtg) "opponent creatures dont untap on the next opponent turn", wich is way more clear than this one...
    Last edited by escapeRoute; 01-05-2014 at 10:33 AM.

  6. #6
    Not really. Menacing Gralk is Sleep on a stick.

    http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Ca...spx?name=SLEEP


    "Card Text:Tap all creatures target player controls. Those creatures don't untap during that player's next untap step."


    Rulings

    10/1/2009 The second part of Sleep's effect affects all creatures the targeted player controls as Sleep resolves, not just the ones that Sleep actually caused to become tapped.
    It seems very likely to me that this is the intended behavior of Gralk.

  7. #7
    I'm fairly sure that being exhausted does not prevent you from being exhausted again by an external force such as the Gralk. Any troop that's in play is exhausted when the Gralk comes down, even if they aren't ready. For a MTG example, look at Tamiyo or Frost Titan.

    TLDR: Exhausted troops can still be exhausted by Gralk.

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by GrinningBuddha View Post
    I'm fairly sure that being exhausted does not prevent you from being exhausted again by an external force such as the Gralk. Any troop that's in play is exhausted when the Gralk comes down, even if they aren't ready. For a MTG example, look at Tamiyo or Frost Titan.

    TLDR: Exhausted troops can still be exhausted by Gralk.
    This - they can be exhausted multiple times, but cannot be exhausted for a cost. So Gralk exhausts them regardless of whether they are already exhausted, then prevents them being readied.
    Xenavire, proud guild leader for The Lions Share.
    http://i307.photobucket.com/albums/n...erlinsmall.png

  9. #9
    Although this would be a good time to point out the text on cards like sleep is intuitive.

    Instead of 1 clause: tap all creatures target player controls. Those creatures don't untap during that player's next untap step

    How about: 2 clauses
    when this troop ETB
    Exhaust all troops target opponent controls +(and)
    Troops target opponent controls do not ready during opponents next prep phase


    Same effect just easier to read and understand. No need to also adopt archaic wording from magic cards

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by DackFayden View Post
    Although this would be a good time to point out the text on cards like sleep is intuitive.

    Instead of 1 clause: tap all creatures target player controls. Those creatures don't untap during that player's next untap step

    How about: 2 clauses
    when this troop ETB
    Exhaust all troops target opponent controls +(and)
    Troops target opponent controls do not ready during opponents next prep phase


    Same effect just easier to read and understand. No need to also adopt archaic wording from magic cards
    The problem with this is your opponent constructs a warhulk and it enters play exhausted after the Menacing Gralk resolves and it can no longer ready as per your wording
    __________________________________________________ _____________________________________
    - Dinner & Drafts

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •